The University of Manchester

Alternatively, use our A–Z index

Attend an open day

Download our course brochure

Discover more about this subject area

MA Creative Writing / Application and selection

Year of entry: 2024

  • View full page

How to apply

How your application is considered.

Entry to the course is competitive and there are always many more applicants than places. Applications are mainly considered on the basis of their portfolio, an assessment of past and predicted academic achievements, the academic references and any other supplementary evidence that supports the application.

Because of the competitive nature of this course, we assess applications together at three separate points in the year:

In the first two weeks of January (12 January, 2024)

In the Easter holidays whenever they fall (25 March, 2024)

In the first week of August (9 August, 2024)

You will be notified of the progress of your application shortly after whichever of these dates comes first after you have applied.

On each of these three assessment periods we will offer no more than twelve places, though if you are not offered one of these, you may be offered a chance to become a reserve candidate which could turn into an offer of a place in August if the course is not filled by then. If you apply after the first week of August you will not be considered for a place until the following academic year.

The final submission date for applications for the 2024/25 academic year is 9 August, 2024*.

* Please not that the application form and portal will show a deadline of September 13th for administration purposes only. The 9th August is the final submission date for entry in 2024.

Overseas (non-UK) applicants

We accept a range of qualifications from different countries that equate to a UK 2.1. For these and general requirements including English language see entry requirements from your country .

If English is not your first language, please provide us with evidence of: 

  • an overall grade 7.0 (with a minimum writing score of 7) in IELTS; or
  • 100+ in the IBT Internet-based TOEFL).

The other language tests we accept can be found here: http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/sitecontent/applicationforms/new-approved-english-tests.pdf

Exceptions to needing a language test (if English is NOT your first language) are:

Antigua & Barbuda; Australia; Bahamas; Barbados; Belize; Dominica; Grenada; Guyana; Ireland; Jamaica; New Zealand; St Kitts and Nevis; St Lucia; St Vincent and the Grenadines; Trinidad and Tobago; UK; USA.

Re-applications

Portfolio requirements.

All applicants without exception must provide a portfolio of either:

  • 3,000 words prose, or
  • 7/8 poems, or
  • a combination of the two.

The portfolio is a fundamental part of the admissions decision making process and it will therefore be assessed by an academic within the department. The final date for submission of a portfolio is the last day in July. Any work submitted with funding applications will not be taken as the final submission for a decision of a place unless specifically requested by the applicant.

creative writing ma manchester

  • Home »
  • Manchester Metropolitan University »
  • Creative Writing

find your perfect postgrad program Search our Database of 30,000 Courses

Manchester metropolitan university: creative writing, distance learning (part-time), 2 years started jan 2024.

At the heart of the Manchester Writing School are our masters programmes in Creative Writing, available to study on campus in Manchester and also from anywhere in the world via online distance learning.

On our Master of Arts (MA) Creative Writing programme, you will explore and practice techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing and apply these through the development of your own creative work. You will undertake a taught element blending writing workshops with reading units and an elective, and then complete your studies through submission of an extended piece of writing from a proposed full-length book or script.

You will specialise in one of the following routes: **Novel Writing (including Short Fiction), Poetry, Writing for Children & Young Adults, Scriptwriting (for stage, screen or radio) or Creative Non-Fiction.**

The MA is available to complete in one year full-time or two years part-time. The Novel, Poetry and Scriptwriting routes are available to study on campus (full-time or part-time) or online (part-time only). The Writing for Children and Creative Non-Fiction routes are online (part-time) only. We have intakes to the programme in September and January each year.

You can also choose to pursue our MFA Creative Writing masters.

**Features and Benefits** - One of the most successful programmes of its kind in the UK today - with more than 100 students and graduates publishing first books in the past ten years.

- Extensive calendar of events - including The Manchester Children's Book Festival, The National Creative Writing Industry Conference, Manchester Writing Competition Gala, Poetry Festivals, book launches, podcasts, and question and answer sessions with guest writers at Manchester Met and Manchester arts venues.

- Industry links - strong links to the publishing industry with visits from major agents, editors and publishers.

- Flexible learning - classes for core Workshop and Reading units take place in the evenings (6-8pm UK time) during the autumn and spring semesters. Full-time students usually have classes two evenings per week, and part-time students one evening per week.

- Extended piece of writing - all MA students will complete an extended piece of writing from a proposed full-length book or script, supported by a term of one-to-one supervision.

- Gain an MFA - students who successfully complete the MA can continue their studies with an additional year, completing a further 120 credits (which includes writing a full-length book or script) and gaining an MFA.

- Live online teaching - the course can be completed entirely online, with core Workshop and Reading unit teaching for distance learning students via weekly online classes in Microsoft Teams.

- Academic expertise - taught by high-profile writers and critics including: Carol Ann Duffy DBE, Susan Barker, Laura Barnett, Andrew Biswell, Malika Booker, Kirsty Bunting, Sarah Butler, Eleanor Byrne, David Cooper, Nikolai Duffy, Paul Evans, Catherine Fox, Rachel Genn, Chloe Germaine, Blanka Grzegorczyk, Oliver Harris, Andrew Michael Hurley, Sarah Ilott, Rachel Lichtentsein, Anjum Malik, Alistair McDowall, Andrew McMillan, Livi Michael, Helen Mort, Kim Moore, Gregory Norminton, Adam O'Riordan, Minoli Salgado, Michael Symmons Roberts, Monique Roffey, Jean Sprackland, Simon Stephens, Joe Stretch, Alex Wheatle MBE, Julie Wilkinson and Lara Williams.

- Visiting Fellows - our course features contributions from our visiting fellows, including: Ed Caesar, Mandy Coe, Tim Cresswell, Amanda Dalton, Steve Dearden, Guy Garvey, Colin Harvey, Jennifer Makumbi, Rachel Mann, Shirley May, André Naffis-Sahely, Ra Page, Stephen Raw, David Shook, Hugh Stoddart and Barry Wood.

- Home to Manchester Poetry Library - Manchester Poetry Library is the North West's first public poetry library and holds over 10,000 books and recordings that can be explored through the online catalogue, in person and through the annual programme of events.

Full-Time, 1 years started Jan 2024

Part-time, 2 years started jan 2024, distance learning (part-time), 2 years started sep 2023, full-time, 1 years started sep 2023, part-time, 2 years started sep 2023, distance learning (part-time), 2 years started jan 2023.

At the heart of the Manchester Writing School are our masters programmes in Creative Writing, available to study on campus in Manchester, and also from anywhere in the world via online distance learning.

On our Master of Arts (MA) Creative Writing programme, you will explore and practise techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing and apply these through the development of your own creative work. MA students undertake a taught element blending writing workshops with reading units and an elective, and then complete their studies through submission of an extended piece of writing from a proposed full-length book or script.

You will specialise in one of the following routes: Novel Writing (including Short Fiction), Poetry, Writing for Children & Young Adults, Scriptwriting (for stage, screen or radio) or Creative Non-Fiction.

The MA is available to complete in one year full-time or two years part-time. This course is available to study on campus (full-time or part-time) or online (part-time only). The main student intake is in September, but it is also possible to begin studying in January.

Visit the Manchester Writing School for more information, including profiles of staff and published students, news, events and projects.

Please visit our masters scholarships page for information on funding opportunities.

**Features and Benefits** - One of the most successful programmes of its kind in the UK today - with more than 95 students and graduates publishing first books in the past ten years.

- Flexible learning - core units take place in the evenings (6-8pm UK time) during the autumn and spring terms with electives delivered on an intensive three-day model or studied independently with one-to-one tutorial supervision during the summer term.

- Live online teaching - the course can be completed entirely online, with core teaching for distance learning students via weekly online classes in Microsoft Teams.

- Academic expertise - taught by high-profile writers and critics including: Carol Ann Duffy DBE, Susan Barker, Laura Barnett, Andrew Biswell, Malika Booker, Chloe Buckley, Sarah Butler, Eleanor Byrne, David Cooper, Nikolai Duffy, Paul Evans, Catherine Fox, Rachel Genn, Blanka Grzegorczyk, Andrew Michael Hurley, Danielle Jawando, Sarah Ilott, Oliver Harris, Rachel Lichtentsein, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Anjum Malik, Alistair McDowall, Andrew McMillan, Livi Michael, Helen Mort, Gregory Norminton, Adam O'Riordan, Minoli Salgado, Michael Symmons Roberts, Monique Roffey, Nicholas Royle, Karen Solie, Jean Sprackland, Simon Stephens, Joe Stretch, Alex Wheatle MBE and Julie Wilkinson.

- Visiting Fellows - our course features contributions from our visiting fellows, including: Sherry Ashworth, Ed Caesar, Mandy Coe, Tim Cresswell, Amanda Dalton, Steve Dearden, Paul Dowswell, Boris Dralyuk, Guy Garvey, Colin Harvey, Jennifer Makumbi, Rachel Mann, Shirley May, André Naffis-Sahely, Ra Page, Stephen Raw, David Shook, Hugh Stoddart and Barry Wood.

Full-Time, 1 years started Jan 2023

Part-time, 2 years started jan 2023, distance learning (part-time), 2 years started sep 2022, full-time, 1 years started sep 2022, part-time, 2 years started sep 2022, master of fine arts - mfa (pg), distance learning (part-time), 3 years started jan 2024.

On our Master of Fine Arts (MFA) programme, you will explore and practice techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing and apply these through the development of your own full-length book or script.

MFA students undertake all of the elements of our MA Creative Writing programme (a taught element blending writing workshops with reading units, an elective, and a dissertation), then take an additional unit about the publishing, literary and arts industries and submit a full-length manuscript: a completed novel or short story collection, poetry collection, book for children or young adults, script for stage, screen or radio, or book of creative non-fiction.

You will be introduced to professionals from the publishing industries, which may include literary agents, publishers, broadcasters and arts practitioners, and the School has strong links with many major arts, educational and cultural organisations. Our MFA model is exceptional in coaching students through the development and completion of a full-length book under the sustained guidance of distinguished, practising writers and seeing those students achieve success in publishing.

You will specialise in one of the following routes: Novel (including Short Fiction), Poetry, Writing for Children & Young Adults, Scriptwriting (for stage, screen or radio) or Creative Non-Fiction.

The MFA is available to complete over two years full-time or three years part-time. The Novel, Poetry and Scriptwriting routes are available to study on campus (full-time or part-time) or online (part-time only). The Writing for Children and Creative Non-Fiction routes are online (part-time) only. We have intakes to the programme in September and January each year.

Applications are also welcome from those already holding an MA in Creative Writing (180 credits) from Manchester Metropolitan or other universities who would like to top-up to an MFA by taking an additional 120 credits (including the Manuscript unit).

**Features and Benefits** - One of the most successful programmes of its kind in the UK - with more than 100 students and graduates publishing first books in the past ten years.

- Extensive calendar of events - including The Manchester Children's Book Festival, The National Creative Writing Industry Conference, Manchester Writing Competition Gala, Poetry Festivals, book launches, podcasts, and question and answer sessions with guest writers at Manchester Met and arts venues.

- Industry links - strong links to the publishing industry with visits from major agents, editors and publishers, and experts from theatre, film and broadcasting.

- Flexible learning - classes for core Workshop and Reading units take place in the evenings (6-8pm UK time) during the autumn or spring semesters. Full-time students usually have classes two evenings per week, and part-time students one evening per week.

- Full-length manuscript - MFA students submit a full-length manuscript: a completed novel or short story collection, poetry collection, book for children or young adults, feature-length script or book of creative non-fiction, completed over a full year with one-to-one editorial input from a dedicated Manuscript Mentor. Manuscript students also attend a term of weekly hour-long seminars with guests from publishing and the literary arts.

- Academic expertise - taught by high-profile writers and critics including: Carol Ann Duffy DBE, Susan Barker and Laura Barnett.

- Visiting Fellows - our course features contributions from our visiting fellows, including: Ed Caesar, Mandy Coe and Tim Cresswell.

- Home to Manchester Poetry Library - the North West's first public poetry library which holds over 10,000 books and recordings that can be explored through the online catalogue, in person and through the annual programme of events.

Full-Time, 2 years started Jan 2024

Part-time, 3 years started jan 2024, distance learning (part-time), 3 years started sep 2023, full-time, 2 years started sep 2023, part-time, 3 years started sep 2023, distance learning (part-time), 3 years started jan 2023.

At the heart of the Manchester Writing School are our Masters programmes in Creative Writing, available to study on campus in Manchester, and also from anywhere in the world via online distance learning.

The MFA is available to complete over two years full-time or three years part-time. This course is available to study on campus (full-time or part-time) or online (part-time only). We have intakes to the programme in September and January each year.

Visit the Manchester Writing School website for more information, including profiles of staff and published students, news, events and projects.

Please visit our Masters scholarships page for information on funding opportunities.

**Features and Benefits** - One of the most successful programmes of its kind in the UK - with more than 95 students and graduates publishing first books in the past ten years.

- Extensive calendar of events - including The Manchester Children's Book Festival, The National Creative Writing Industry Conference, Manchester Writing Competition Gala and Poetry Festivals.

- Industry links - strong links to the publishing, literary and arts industries with visits from major agents, editors and publishers.

- Flexible learning - core units take place in the evenings during the autumn and spring terms, with electives delivered on an intensive three-day model or studied independently with one-to-one tutorial supervision during the summer term.

- Full-length manuscript - MFA students submit a full-length manuscript: a completed novel or short story collection, poetry collection, book for children or young adults, feature-length script or book of creative non-fiction, completed over a full year with one-to-one editorial input from a dedicated Manuscript Mentor. Manuscript students also attend a term of weekly hour-long seminars with guests from the publishing industry and the literary arts.

- Academic expertise - taught by high-profile writers and critics including: Carol Ann Duffy DBE, Susan Barker, Laura Barnett, Andrew Biswell and Malika Booker.

- Visiting Fellows - our course features contributions from our visiting fellows, including: Ed Caesar, Mandy Coe, Tim Cresswell and Amanda Dalton.

Full-Time, 2 years started Jan 2023

Part-time, 3 years started jan 2023, distance learning (part-time), 3 years started sep 2022, full-time, 2 years started sep 2022, part-time, 3 years started sep 2022.

creative writing ma manchester

Manchester Metropolitan University (Manchester Met) is a historic and internationally recognised institution that dates back to 1824. Known for the quality of its teaching, it is also ranked as one of the top 60 universities in the UK*.

The University, which is located in the heart of Manchester’s city centre, is home to a diverse community of more than 4,000 international students from over 100 countries. International students are offered comprehensive support throughout their journey at Manchester Met, including advice on employability skills, careers, accommodation, and immigration.

Studying at Manchester Met

Students are able to choose from a wide range …

Not what you are looking for?

Scholarship Opportunity with Postgrad.com

Are you a PG student at this University or have you applied to study a postgraduate program at a university in Europe? Tell us your plans and qualify for a £500.00 PGS Scholarship.

Postgrad.com

Exclusive bursaries Open day alerts Funding advice Application tips Latest PG news

Sign up now!

Postgrad Solutions Study Bursaries

Take 2 minutes to sign up to PGS student services and reap the benefits…

  • The chance to apply for one of our 5 PGS Bursaries worth £2,000 each
  • Fantastic scholarship updates

creative writing ma manchester

MA Creative Writing

Manchester Metropolitan University logo

About this program

At the heart of the Manchester Writing School are our masters programmes in Creative Writing, available to study on campus in Manchester and also from anywhere in the world via online distance learning.

On our Master of Arts (MA) Creative Writing programme, you will explore and practice techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing and apply these through the development of your own creative work. You will undertake a taught element blending writing workshops with reading units and an elective, and then complete your studies through submission of an extended piece of writing from a proposed full-length book or script.

Admission requirements

Applicants whose first language is not English are required to produce evidence of English Language proficiency. Overseas applicants will require IELTS with an overall score of 6.5, with no sub-component below 5.5, or an equivalent accepted English qualification.

If your application meets these criteria, a tutor may contact you to arrange a telephone or face-to-face interview at a mutually convenient time.

For more information about admission requirements, please visit the university website.

Does this course require proof of English proficiency?

The TOEFL iBT® test is accepted by 11,500 universities and higher education institutions in over 160 countries. Book your test today!

Sports Programs

Manchester is home to some of the biggest names in sports, and this has inspired Manchester Met to offer a wide range of sporting activities to students - there are currently 45 sports clubs at the university,

The Institute of Sport also works with organisations that include the Football Association, the International Olympic Committee, the International Paralympic Committee, Sport England, and UEFA.

Program content

  • Creative Dissertation
  • Reading Unit 1
  • The Workshop

Scholarships & funding

Several scholarship options are available. Please check the university website for more information.

Postgraduate taught courses

If we classify you as an eu or non-eu international student, you will normally pay between £16,500 and £18,000., career paths.

More than 100 of our students and graduates have embarked upon publishing careers, launching first books, with many more achieving publication in journals and magazines, winning writing awards and prizes, and setting up small presses and anthologies. Our alumni include winners of the Costa First Novel Award, Forward Poetry Prize and Yale Windham-Campell Prize, and a long-listing for the Man Booker Prize.

Our School plays a leading role in establishing Manchester as a city of writers with a commitment to finding diverse new voices and creating opportunities for writer development, enabling new writing and building audiences for the next generation of talent. Manchester has been designated a UNESCO City of Literature in recognition of its thriving live literature scene, with a year-round programme of author events, writers’ forums, networking opportunities and open mic nights.

Message the school

Want to know more about Manchester Metropolitan University? Fill out the form and include any questions you have. This information will be sent directly to the school, and a representative will respond to your enquiry.

By completing this form you agree to the Manchester Metropolitan University adding your personal data to our prospective students and enquirers database, and to be contacted by the University for promotional purposes with information on our services, benefits and opportunities. We rely upon the legitimate interests lawful basis in order to hold and use your personal data for these purposes.

You can unsubscribe by using links at the bottom of our communications or by contacting [email protected]. For further information about our use of your personal data and your data subject rights, please see our Enquirers and Prospective Student Privacy Notice: https://www.mmu.ac.uk/data-protection/privacy-notices/enquirers-prospective-students/

reCAPTCHA logo

About this institute

Manchester Metropolitan University logo

Manchester Metropolitan University

Manchester Metropolian University (Manchester Met) is a historic and internationally recognised institution that dates back to 1824. Known for the quality of its teaching, it is also ranked as one of the top 60 universities in the UK (The Complete...

Why study at Manchester Metropolitan University

  • Ranked 60th University in the UK. (Complete University Guide 2024)
  • Lifelong access to our digital careers service for all alumni of the University.
  • £400M+ future investment planned to develop our facilities, buildings and public spaces.
  • 1,750 academic teaching staff and Professors.
  • 4,000 international students from over 100 countries
  • History and heritage: Our roots in higher education date back to 1824.
  • Proud to be a top 3 sustainable university in the UK. (People & Planet University League 2022/23)
  • Free English language support during your studies.
  • Industry links with global companies, including IBM, Bentley Motors, Bosch, Nike, Walt Disney, L’Oreal, and Lloyds Banking Group
  • 90% of our research impact is world-leading or internationally excellent. (REF 2021)

Contact info

You may also like..., creative writing (taught), ma in creative writing, creative writing - ma, creative writing ma, master of arts in literature and creative writing, creative writing (research).

StudyLink Menu

  • See all Countries
  • United Kingdom
  • Netherlands
  • Switzerland
  • Online Learning

Manchester Metropolitan University logo

Creative Writing, MA

Manchester Metropolitan University, the United Kingdom

Study options for this course

About creative writing, ma - at manchester metropolitan university.

At the heart of the Manchester Writing School are our masters programmes in Creative Writing, available to study on campus in Manchester and also from anywhere in the world via online distance learning.

On our Master of Arts (MA) Creative Writing programme, you will explore and practice techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing and apply these through the development of your own creative work. You will undertake a taught element blending writing workshops with reading units and an elective, and then complete your studies through submission of an extended piece of writing from a proposed full-length book or script.

You will specialise in one of the following routes: Novel (including Short Fiction), Poetry, Writing for Children & Young Adults, Scriptwriting (for stage, screen or radio) or Creative Non-Fiction.

The MA is available to complete in one year full-time or two years part-time. This course is available to study on campus (full-time or part-time) or online (part-time only). We have intakes to the programme in September and January each year.

Entry requirements

In order to apply, you will need to submit a completed application form, a sample of creative writing, a critical review and one reference. You can apply online or download an application form here: mmu.ac.uk/study/postgraduate/apply/postgraduate-taught-course.

On the application form, you will be asked to give a personal statement and should use this to tell us a bit about yourself and give a good sense of what you have been reading and writing, and what has led you to apply for our course. For the creative sample, applicants to the Novel, Children's/YA and Creative Non-Fiction routes should submit up to 2,000 words of prose (a complete piece, or an extract/extracts from a longer work); poetry applicants should submit up to 15 poems; and scriptwriting applicants should submit up to 15 minutes running time of script. The critical review should focus on a piece of 21st century work, be up to 500 words long, and show evidence of close reading, explaining what it is about the piece you find useful as a writer. Both the creative and critical samples should be relevant to the specialist route to which you are applying to (Novel OR Poetry OR Writing for Children/YA OR Scriptwriting OR Creative Non-Fiction). Your reference can be from anyone of professional standing (e.g. a current/former employer or tutor) who can vouch for your suitability for study at postgraduate level or the quality of your writing, or, if you are unable to obtain a reference from someone who is familiar with your written work, simply verify your identity.

Please collate and submit the application form, writing sample, review and reference, where possible. It will not speed up the processing of your application if you send some elements now with others to follow.

We have intakes into the programme in September and January each year. While there is no set deadline for the receipt of applications, we would recommend applying before the end of August for September entry, and by 6th December for January entry. We normally aim to respond to applications within four weeks of receipt of all four elements: application form, writing sample, review and reference, although it may take a little longer outside of term time.

  • A very high standard of written English;
  • Creative talent and potential;
  • Control of form, style and technique;
  • Commitment to the craft of writing and the development of writing skills through workshops and supervision;
  • Substantial reading within the relevant field.

Applicants whose first language is not English are required to produce evidence of English Language proficiency. Overseas applicants will require IELTS with an overall score of 6.5, with no sub-component below 5.5, or an equivalent accepted English qualification.

If your application meets these criteria, a tutor may contact you to arrange a telephone or face-to-face interview at a mutually convenient time.

Courses you may be interested in at other institutions

Below are some suggested courses at other providers that you may also be interested in:

Radboud University, Nijmegen School of Management logo image

Human Geography MSc

Radboud University, Nijmegen School of Management

University of Groningen logo image

CPE Track Lifecourse Health Development Master Degree

University of Groningen

Osgoode Professional Development logo image

Professional LLM in Canadian Common Law LLM

Osgoode Professional Development

ONCAMPUS Southampton logo image

Pre-Master's Programme in Engineering and Physical Sciences Pre-Masters, Postgraduate

ONCAMPUS Southampton

Cranfield School of Management logo image

Leading Complex Projects and Programmes Short Course

Cranfield School of Management

Alba Graduate Business School logo image

Business for Lawyers MSc

Alba Graduate Business School

Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management logo image

Advanced Master in Biotech and MedTech Ventures Advanced Master

Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management

ONCAMPUS Ireland logo image

International Foundation Studies Programme Engineering and Science International Foundation Programme, Undergraduate Foundation Programme

ONCAMPUS Ireland

Postgraduate pathways and pre-masters at other institutions

If you do not meet the entry requirements for this course then consider one of these postgraduate preparation courses from another institution:

Pre-Master's Programme in Engineering and Physical Sciences

Engineering Institute of Technology logo image

Graduate Diploma of Engineering (Mechanical)

Engineering Institute of Technology

Edith Cowan University Online (ECU) logo image

Environmental Management

Edith Cowan University Online (ECU)

RMIT Online logo image

Project Management

RMIT Online

SIM E-Learning logo image

Graduate Diploma in Data Science

SIM E-Learning

UTS Online logo image

Graduate Diploma in Psychology

James Cook University Online (JCU) logo image

James Cook University Online (JCU)

Southern Cross University Online logo image

Graduate Diploma of Mental Health

Southern Cross University Online

Other courses at Manchester Metropolitan University

There are 78 other courses listed from Manchester Metropolitan University. A selection of these are displayed below:

Manchester Metropolitan University logo image

Acting BA (Hons)

Manchester Metropolitan University

Animation BA (Hons)

Animation MA

Applied Criminology MA

Applied Linguistics MA

Applied Quantitative Methods MSc

Architecture BA (Hons)

Architecture and Urbanism MA

Related Information

See other universities in Manchester

Find out more about studying in the United Kingdom

The University of Manchester

Centre for New Writing

The Manchester Anthology

As a Creative Writing MA student at the Centre for New Writing, you will get the opportunity to have a piece of fiction or poetry published in The Manchester Anthology when you graduate.

The Anthology comes out each September and as well as having your work featured in it, you could also gain invaluable experience of editing, proofing, promoting and distributing a publication by getting involved in the production.

A book launch takes place, again organised by the students, often at a prestigious partner venue in Manchester such as the International Anthony Burgess Foundation or the John Rylands Library. A number of students read from their work at the event, alongside invited guest writers.

Find out more

In the video below, Maria Alejandra Barrios Velez talks about the 2016 edition that she co-edited with fellow student Giorgio Grande.

Your words in print

Below is a selection of anthologies from the past few years. As part of the student editorial team you would also get to commission the illustration and cover design.

Illustration for The Manchester Anthology 2021

The Manchester Anthology 2021

Edited by Arooj Anwar, Louise Berger, and teams. Cover design by Jeremy Simon.

Illustration for The Manchester Anthology 2020

The Manchester Anthology 2020

Edited by Joss Areté Kelvin. Cover design by Jeremy C Simon.

Illustration for The Manchester Anthology 2019

The Manchester Anthology 2019

Edited by Paddy Dobson and Thomas D Lee with a foreword by Beth Underdown. Cover design by Josh Jones.

Illustration for The Manchester Anthology 2018

The Manchester Anthology 2018

Edited by Samuel P Jones, Joe-Carrick Varty and Alexandra Pape with a foreword by Kamila Shamsie. Cover design by Rebecca Heselton. Click on the cover to read in full.

Illustration for The Manchester Anthology 2017

The Manchester Anthology 2017

Edited by Hannah Bressler, C.S. Vaughan and Phil Olsen, with a foreword by Geoff Ryman and artwork by Louise Giovanelli.

Illustration for The Manchester Anthology 2016

The Manchester Anthology 2016

Edited by Maria Barrios and Giorgio Grande, with a foreword by John McAuliffe.

Colourful linocut illustration of passengers on a tram by Summer du Plessis

The Manchester Anthology 2015

Featuring cover artwork by third year illustration student Summer du Plessis.

Illustration of the Manchester skyline

The Manchester Anthology 2014

Edited by Sarah-Clare Conlon, with a foreword by Vona Groarke and featuring new fiction by Ian McGuire.

illustration of a face

The Manchester Anthology 2013

Featuring 28 new writers, with a foreword by Jeanette Winterson.

Home

Creative Writing: Innovation and Experiment

Salford School of Arts, Media and Creative Technology

September 2024

In a nutshell

Are you an experienced creative writer looking for new ways to hone their craft? Do you want to establish a professional career as a novelist, publisher or journalist? This forward-thinking MA in Creative Writing will offer a way to stretch your writing muscles, step out of the ordinary and take your writing skills in new and exciting directions.

On our MA Creative Writing programme you will develop work at the cutting-edge of new and evolving practices. You will take your creative writing to the next level so that it really stands out, making it unique and distinctively attractive to the current market.  

You will do this by playing to your strengths as a creative writer while engaging with fundamental issues in theories of literature and creative practice. The course offers exactly what the name suggests – it opens your mind, allows you to explore philosophical writing and challenges you to critically reflect critically upon your own creative work.

This masters in Creative Writing course will be of interest to writers of prose, poetry, scripts, hybrid and visual forms. You will not be required to commit to any one form, and will have the opportunity to move between or mix forms if you wish.

And whether you choose to study full-time or part-time, as a creative writing postgraduate student studying at Salford, you’ll be surrounded by inspiring creatives from across a range of disciplines. Manchester’s creative hub is a vibrant and exciting place to study, build community and nurture your writing talent.  

Learn more about our MA Creative Writing courses by signing up to one of our open days . 

You can also follow our #EnglishatSalford  Instagram ,  Twitter  and  Facebook  accounts, which are led by our English teaching staff so you can find out how we tell our story through English, Creative Writing and Drama.

  • Learn from award-winning, internationally-recognised writers and performers
  • Have the freedom to develop your own projects and inject your writing with the rigour and depth needed to work in the creative industry
  • Graduate with a strong portfolio of work that can be used to establish your reputation as a creative writer

This is for you if...

You are a humanities graduate or experienced creative writer who is looking to challenge your conceptions of literature and creative practice.

You are looking for the inspiration to develop your creative writing in new ways.

You’re looking for the opportunity to build a range of transferable skills that can be used for a variety of careers in writing

All about the course

Throughout the programme you’ll have the opportunity to challenge your creative habits, strengthen your skills and learn how to conduct yourself as a professional writer – producing work that is profound, interesting and attracts the attention of publishers and directors alike.

In your first semester of study, you’ll be encouraged to push the boundaries of your own creativity and to explore experimental writing from across the ages. This will give you the chance to find what resonates with you most, and to help bring innovation into your own work.

As your course progresses, you’ll take part in stimulating and supportive creative writing workshops that will enable you to explore your social and political positioning in a safe and non-judgmental environment.

Your final project will encourage you to dig deep and complete an ambitious, large-scale creative project using the writing styles you’ve developed, while exploring the fundamental questions that have most fascinated you during the course.

The December 2022 External Examiners' report on this programme said: 

This is an outstanding programme of study. The variety of assessment enables students to excel in different ways, but perhaps the most impressive element is the way in which the assessment strategy has been designed to allow students to develop throughout the programme.  In terms of feedback, this is exemplary. It is detailed, personalised. The programme clearly provides students with a clear and robust sense of the publishing world in relation to creative writing. This is partly delivered through notions of context regarding the writing business, but it is also exemplified through the attention to different modes of writing. The development of highly-skilled communication strategies is an excellent measure of employability.  The uniqueness of the programme in relation to other creative writing postgraduate courses is one of the most impressive elements of this programme. It offers a focussed and rigorous notion of creative writing that, in its focus on experimental practice, marks this programme as exceptional in this area. 

Theory, Text, Writing

This module explores the ways we understand our literary and social world, allowing you to engage with critical, creative and hybrid work to improve your analytic and writing skills.  Some of the questions we will debate include: 

How do literary texts engage with the politics of class, race, gender, nationality and sexuality?  

Can writing imagine alternatives to political, social and environmental crisis? 

  • What is the relationship between writing, well-being and world-building, for both individuals and communities?  

You will be taught by critical and creative writers who will showcase their cutting-edge theoretical and literary practices to enable you to have confidence to work on exciting, innovative topics, and to experiment with your own practice.

Experimental Practice

A series of weekly sessions, alternating between seminars and practical workshops, this module explores the history of experimental writing techniques over the last seventy years and examines how writers have sought new forms for expression to address rapidly changing realities.

Topics covered may include:

  • Conceptual Writing
  • Visual, sound and concrete poetry
  • The use of mathematical rules and constraints in writing (OuLiPo)
  • Autofiction and new narrative

You can also study Experimental Practice as a standalone single module.

Professional Practice

This module allows students to develop the skills they need for their future careers, whether you aspire to work in the creative industries, academia, publishing or any other role where creativity and innovation are valued. This is a practical skills-based module to help work on their professional portfolios with expert guidance.  

Topics covered will include:

  • The public value of the arts
  • Marketing, publishing and networking
  • Writing a research proposal
  • Effective digital presentations

Writing Workshop

You will undertake a series of workshops in which you share your own creative projects with fellow students and a writing tutor. Work will be submitted regularly in advance to the group and the tutor, who will make detailed preparation for the workshops including annotated material. This workshop provides a context for an ongoing creative exploration of how theoretical ideas can influence and inform creative practice.

 You can also study Writing Workshop as a standalone single module.

Dissertation: Creative Project

The Creative Project gives you regular one-to-one tutorial support as your pursue your creative vision. You will be encouraged to draw on your knowledge of theory, experimentation and your own developing practice. Reading material will be negotiated on an individual basis depending on your chosen area.

Year one, trimester one

  • Theory Text Writing (30 credits)

Year one, trimester two

  • Writing Workshop (30 credits)

Year two, trimester one

  • Experimental Practice (30 Credits) 

Year two, trimester two

Professional Practice (30 credits)

Year two, trimester three

Final Project (60 Credits)

Please note that it may not be possible to deliver the full list of options every year as this will depend on factors such as how many students choose a particular option. Exact modules may also vary in order to keep content current. When accepting your offer of a place to study on this programme, you should be aware that not all optional modules will be running each year. Your tutor will be able to advise you as to the available options on or before the start of the programme. Whilst the University tries to ensure that you are able to undertake your preferred options, it cannot guarantee this.

What will I be doing?

Written creative and critical assignments

Final creative project

While you’ll be invited to regular workshops, lectures and seminars covering the theory involved in this creative writing postgraduate course, it is your own creative activity that is the main driver for learning.

Through personal tutorials you will receive feedback and one-to-one support to help unleash your creative potential, alongside masterclasses with visiting contemporary writers who will inspire you to think outside the boundaries of common literary approaches.

Your classes will be based at our Peel Park Campus .

Both full-time and part-time MA creative writing students will study alongside aspiring artists, musicians, performers and fashion designers, creating a vibrant sense of community and inspirational support network.

Theory, Text Writing (30 credits, joint module with literature students)

A critical essay 3,500 words; a critical, creative or hybrid essay using theoretical ideas 3500 words

Experimental Practice (30 Credits, Creative writing students only)

Creative piece of 3,500 words or equivalent, hybrid or critical essay 3500 words

Writing Workshop (30 Credits, Creative Writing students only)

Creative piece of 6,000 words or equivalent, statement of poetics 1000 words

Professional Practice (30 Credits, joint module with literature students)

A presentation 15 minutes, a written component involving either a journal article, PhD funding proposal or Arts Council application.

Final Creative Project (60 Credits)

Creative work of 12,000 words or equivalent, statement of poetics 2,000 words

I found the theory elements of the course particularly useful because they challenged me to think critically about my creativity. It helped me look at my writing not just as an artist but as an academic, giving me a better understanding of my own ideas. By the end of the course, I found that my creative work was underpinning theory effortlessly, the literary theory actually enhancing the quality of my work. I don’t think I could go back to writing whatever came out of my brain without wanting to understand what the literary canon has to say about it. I’ve learned that to improve as a writer, I have to engage in the literary community, and the theoretical side of that journey is so necessary. Luckily, the staff at Salford recognise that and have shaped the course accordingly!

Christina Sims

MA graduate 2017, currently working as a University of Salford Wordscope tutor

I came to this MA with an aim to invigorate my practice, to take it to the next level, after feeling for too long that I had plateaued as a writer—that I was at the mercy of inspiration, rather than my own ability or intentions. I came to this MA, too, with doubts that it would genuinely help me as an artist, and doubts that I would be able to keep up with the strange theoretical world of experimental and innovative writing. Thankfully, these doubts were soon assuaged. The opening module, Experimental Practice, was fascinating and awe-inspiring, asking for little more than an openness to new ideas and a willingness to try everything (and read even more!). It seemed to re-wire the neural pathways in my brain. From there, the knowledge, support, and opportunities offered to me on this MA helped me not only to change the way I write, but to change the way that I think about and approach writing, and the direction that I want to take myself in as an artist. I am sometimes asked if it is totally necessary for me as a writer to take such a course. Absolutely. I absolutely needed to do it. If you, too, are looking for more, if you are willing to work hard, have an open mind, and challenge your own mis-conceptions about narrative, form, ownership of art, and more, then you will surely be able to find that next level that you are searching for as an artist.

Stuart Page

Creative writing: innovation and experiment, 2018-2019

A writer should never stay comfortable. The Masters at Salford has enhanced my relationship with writing by challenging my perceptions of it. Being equipped with theory to analyse experimental creative works, I now engage with writing on a committed level, on a level which acknowledges the craftsmanship in the writing process. With the dedication of experienced tutors, I have discovered and developed my writer’s voice and profile. The tutors attend to detail when they review your work and teach text with an eye to the detail of the writing and the choice of form and style. Through well-chosen exemplars, they taught me how to refine my self-expression and my awareness of how knowing my purpose and my audience can hone my writing.

Akhtar Qudsia

Creative writing: innovation and experiment , 2018-2019

Who are you as a writer? Why do you always write about that? How can you break free from your self-imposed boundaries? Over the course of the MA, I discovered the answers to these questions – and many more – as the blend of theoretical and creative modules allowed me to not only establish my identity as a writer but challenge myself to trust my instincts. The final creative project tested my strengths as a writer, dared me to address my weaknesses, yet provided me with the freedom to tell my story. The dedicated support of my supervisor was paramount during this journey as I realised the purpose of my writing was already hidden beneath the words.

Lily-Mae Williams

MA Creative Writing: Innovation and experiment 2018, Marketing Graduate Associate

BE A PART OF A CREATIVE, SUPPORTIVE COMMUNITY

All our  English courses  are delivered by the  Salford School of Arts, Media, and Creative Technology . Our focus is to ensure that you have the skills you need to pursue your dreams, and we encourage our students, past and present, to collaborate with each other and achieve great things.

Each year - through the Create Student Awards – our School rewards the incredible achievements and successes of our final year and postgraduate students.

Whatever you choose to study with us, you’ll be mentored and supported by experts. And once you graduate, it won’t end there. You’ll join a thriving alumni network across Greater Manchester and beyond, meaning you’ll be supported professionally and personally whenever you need it.

Staff Profile

"I am a Reader in English and Creative Writing at Salford, and I lead the MA in Creative Writing: Innovation and Experiment.

I mainly work in haiku, poetry and visual text as a creative practitioner and an academic. However I also have a strong background as a playwright and short story writer and have won awards in both these areas.

My publications include four volumes of poetry, two research monographs and many articles. I have won awards for both my creative and my academic work, and my work has featured twice in Guardian round ups of best books of the year.

A keen and active collaborator with other art forms and translation practices, I am involved in various projects , such as the translation of Old English riddles, and have also acted as the incredible edible Todmorden poet laureate for several years. I am currently writing a book for Edinburgh University Press on the thickness of language and visual effects in translation and creative composition practices, and look forward to sharing some of my ideas with you."

Learn more about Judy Kendall  or  Explore the English faculty at the University of Salford .

EXPLORE OUR ENGLISH FACILITIES

Fancy learning your craft using the same type of equipment you’ll use when you’re working? Study with us, and you’ll become confident and comfortable with industry-standard kits and facilities. You won’t just be left to work it out on your own – our experienced tutors and technicians will show you how to master everything we have on offer.

Explore our English facilities at the University of Salford.

What about after uni?

Whether you aspire to literary greatness or you’re keen to pursue further study, our master’s in creative writing innovation and experiment will give you the tools and training you need to take the first step in your professional career.

While the aim of this course is to encourage you to challenge and develop yourself creatively as a writer, it offers much more besides that. Alongside establishing successful careers as creative writers, many of our graduates go on to secure professional roles in publishing, teaching and fiction writing, as well as arts administration and journalism. 

FURTHER STUDY

Postgraduate research in Creative Writing is co-ordinated by the English Literature, Language and Creative Practice Research group in the Arts Media and Communication Research Centre, headed by Dr Scott Thurston. The group explores hybrid and inter-disciplinary ways of working and in our examination of marginal, experimental and emergent practices. We are concerned with looking at the overlooked and teasing out readings of neglected and/or transgressive authors and cultural practices. From looking at writing conflict in Northern Ireland to Victorian Sensation fiction, from discontented minds in Early Modern Drama to the representation of serial killers in film and fiction, from African modernism to experimental poetry, from the hidden meanings of place names to discourse analysis – our work is searching, critically-engaged and culturally relevant.

A key strength of the group is in the practice and study of innovative writing, covering experimental and literary fiction, young adult fiction, innovative poetry, visual text, scriptwriting, devising and directing for stage, performance, adaptation, autobiography and translation.  Find out more .

Recent successes include:

  • Dan Lovatt’s regular articles for  Fourth Floor, and selection of his theatre play for a residency at Kings Arms during Manchester Fringe Festival
  • Qudsia Akhtar’s first collection accepted with Verve Poetry Press of work written during the MA and success in obtaining AHRC funding for a phd at Salford
  • Chrissi Nerantzi’s  blog , including discussion of her experience of the Creative Writing MA 
  • Jazmine Linklater’s work in the marketing department of Carcanet Press; 
  • Kayleigh McGuire’s apprenticeship with the Arts Council; 
  • John Mansell (writer name John Blakemore) ‘What Love is’ in  Purple Reign  anthology, Erbaccce Press, 2019
  • Leanne Bridgewater,  Confessions of a Cyclist , The Knives Forks and Spoons Press:
  • Richard Barrett,  Hugz , The Knives Forks and Spoons Press:
  • Nia Davies’ first full-length poetry collection with high-profile publisher Bloodaxe Books.
  • Nigel Wood and Joanne Langton co-editing The Dark Would anthology of Language Art with Phil Davenport.
  • Leanne Bridgewater’s work as a librarian in Coventry and publication of her first full-length collection with The Knives Forks and Spoons Press.
  • Richard Barrett as widely-published poet and editor of Happy Books.
  • Stephen Emmerson as a well-published poet with work from the if p then q press and co-editor of the magazine and small press BLART books.
  • Jazmine Linklater’s first collection for Dock Road Press.
  • Joanne Langton’s work as editor with The Knives Forks and Spoons Press, and current post teaching English in Mexico (she also published her first collection with KFS).

Many of these writers have performed at The Other Room poetry reading series in Manchester (2008-2018)

Career Links

Many of our graduates participate actively in literary culture through organising and entering literary competitions, setting up and editing anthologies, publishing work elsewhere, and taking up internships with publishers of poetry and fiction or in arts administration. Whether our students are writers of experimental prose, poetry or script, mixed-media creators, visual text makers or performance artists, we prepare Creative Writing MA graduates for a life in the creative industries, offering instruction on production and project funding bids, PhD applications, and journal writing.

The course benefits from a programme of visiting writers to the English Subject Group. In addition, at least two workshops per academic year are convened by key figures in innovative writing. Past visitors have included: Lucy Burnett, Robert Sheppard, Phil Davenport, Allen Fisher, Camille Martin, Carrie Etter, Philip Kuhn, Tony Trehy and Christine Kennedy.

Other industry links are Carcanet Press who offer one week’s internship in their marketing department, Arts Council England, International Anthony Burgess Foundation, Streetcake experimental writing magazine, Knives Forks and Spoons Poetry Press, Portico Library and Working Class Movement Library.

Previous graduates have gone onto further study and training and participated in literary culture through organizing literary competitions and publishing creative work. Recent successes include: Dan Lovatt's play 'Toxic' winning Write for the Stage and Offset awards at 2021 GM Fringe Festival; Simon Ross publishing in There is No Guest ; Qudsia Akhtar publishing a poetry collection with Verve Poetry Press; Lucy Hulton set up Sparkling Tongue press and was shortlisted for Streetcake's 2020 experimental poetry award; James Ward's short story 'Norway Spruce' was published in the Bridge House Anthology Evergreen; Sue Sandiland's MA project dissertation 'I Am Lunatic' published by Pegasus Publishers . 

What you need to know

Applicant profile.

To gain a place on this MA Creative Writing course, you’ll have to submit a personal statement and meet our entry requirements when you apply.

Within your personal statement (up to 4000 characters), we’ll want to understand:

• what motivates you and what current experiences do you have in terms of creative writing?

• how have you been involved and what did you do?

• do you have any knowledge of the communications and literature sector; are there any projects that inspire you?

• What are your future goals?

• and why the University of Salford and this course is the right choice for your future goals.

We will also need to see a 3-page portfolio of your creative work - which can be comprised of the following: short samples of a range of your creative work OR An extract from a longer creative project AND other relevant non-fiction writing e.g. travel features, autobiography; or academic writing.

Standard entry requirements

Applicants to this course must have a good honours degree (2:2) in English literature, language or a related subject.

International Students

If you are an international student and not from a majority English speaking country, you will need IELTS 6.5 with no element below 5.5. We accept qualifications from all around the world. Find your country to see a full list of entry requirements.

We also accept a range of other English language qualifications . If you do not have the English language requirements, you could take our Pre-Sessional English course .

Accreditation of Prior Learning (APL)

We welcome applications from students who may not have formal/traditional entry criteria but who have relevant experience or the ability to pursue the course successfully.

The Accreditation of Prior Learning (APL) process could help you to make your work and life experience count. The APL process can be used for entry onto courses or to give you exemptions from parts of your course.

Two forms of APL may be used for entry: The Accreditation of Prior Certificated Learning (APCL) or the Accreditation of Prior Experiential Learning (APEL).

Additional costs

You should also consider further costs which may include books, stationery, printing, binding and general subsistence on trips and visits.

Aziz Foundation Scholarship

The Aziz Scholarship Programme offers 100% tuition fee Masters scholarships to support British Muslims who wish to advance their careers and bring positive change to their communities by studying at one of their partner UK universities. One of the eligible programmes at the University of Salford is MA in Creative Writing: Innovation and Experiment. Find out more about the Aziz Foundation Scholarship . 

Scholarships for International Students

If you are a high-achieving international student, you may be eligible for one of our scholarships. Explore our international scholarships .

All set? Let's apply

Enrolment dates.

September 2025

Shiksha Online

  • Cloud Technologies
  • Computer Science
  • Cybersecurity
  • IT Services
  • Masters and Certificate Programs
  • Networking and Hardware
  • Operating System
  • Programming
  • QA and Testing
  • Web Development
  • Software Tools
  • Career Guides
  • Learn why Cybersecurity is essential
  • Learn about the 4Vs of Big Data
  • An Ethical Hacker's guide for getting from beginner to professional
  • Data Science Basics
  • Data Science for Healthcare
  • Deep Learning
  • Machine Learning
  • Learn more about different versions of Python
  • How to get started with Data Science?
  • Learn about the difference between AI and ML
  • How to Use Midjourney AI for Creating a Masterpiece Art?
  • Data Analyst Salary in India
  • Conditional Statements in Python – Python Tutorial
  • Random Forest Algorithm: Python Code
  • Business Analytics
  • Business Tools
  • Communication
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Human Resources
  • Industry Programs
  • Logistics and Supply Chain
  • Masters and PG-Management
  • Product Management
  • Strategy and Leadership
  • Project Management
  • What are the latest trends in Recruitment?
  • What are the traits required to become a successful Entrepreneur?
  • Your guide to become a Business Analyst
  • Henri Fayol’s 14 Principles of Management with Examples
  • Using 7 QC Tools For Quality Improvement and Customer Satisfaction
  • Top 122 SEO Interview Questions and Answers
  • Top 91 Marketing Interview Questions and Answers
  • Bachelors Program
  • Masters Program
  • Creativity and Design
  • Emerging Technologies
  • Engineering-Non CS
  • Energy and Environment
  • Social Sciences
  • Personal Development
  • What is Marketing Management?
  • Know All About What is an Email with Types and Importance
  • More Than Just A Process: 10 Tips For A Successful Performance Appraisal
  • The Best Courses Guide – Digital Marketing
  • All the Steps in a Project Cost Management Plan

MA in Creative Writing

Vendor

Course Highlights

  • Earn a degree after completion of the course

Skills you will learn!

Who should do this course.

  • Aspiring writers looking to develop their craft across various genres, including fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and scriptwriting

What are the course deliverables?

  • Fiction Writing: Techniques, styles, and strategies for crafting compelling fictional narratives
  • Poetry Writing: Exploring poetic forms, language, and expression in poetry composition
  • Narrative Structure: Understanding plot development, character arcs, and storytelling techniques
  • Language and Style: Exploring language, voice, and stylistic elements in creative writing
  • Scriptwriting (Screenplays/Plays): Writing scripts for film, theater, or television
  • Writing for Children and Young Adults: Creating engaging literature for younger audiences

More about this course

  • This course is designed to cultivate and enhance students' skills in creative writing across various genres
  • This course offers a comprehensive exploration of creative writing techniques, literary analysis, and professional development opportunities, catering to individuals passionate about honing their writing abilities and pursuing careers in the field of creative writing
  • This course offers insights into the publishing industry, editing, and professional development, equipping graduates with the tools to navigate the complex landscape of the literary world

Course Eligibility

  • Education: Bachelors degree and IELTS with an overall score of 6.5, with no sub-component below 5.5, or an equivalent accepted English qualification

Course Curriculum

  • CREATIVE DISSERTATION
  • READING UNIT 1
  • THE WORKSHOP
  • CREATIVE PROJECT
  • GREEN WRITING
  • READING UNIT 2
  • REMAKING GAMES: CREATIVITY, PLAY AND COMMUNICATION
  • TEACHING CREATIVE WRITING
  • THE INDUSTRY
  • WRITING ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS

About Course Provider

Vendor Logo

Frequently Asked Questions

Course

  • Undergraduate open days

Order a prospectus

  • Subject areas
  • Why study at Manchester Met?
  • Chat to our current students
  • Schools and colleges
  • Parents and guardians
  • Mature students
  • Online learning
  • Admissions policies and procedures
  • Virtual tour
  • Postgraduate open days
  • Online courses
  • Join us in January 2024
  • Find a postgraduate course
  • Professional development
  • Research study
  • Information for employers
  • Funding and the levy
  • Employer case studies
  • Apprenticeship information for students
  • Student case studies
  • Apprenticeship Research Unit
  • How to apply for accommodation
  • Living in halls
  • Your contract
  • Rent a private property
  • Course enquiries Ask us a question
  • Find your country
  • Before you apply

How to apply

  • When you have an offer
  • Apply for your visa
  • Exchange to Manchester Metropolitan
  • Study abroad
  • Becoming a partner
  • Areas of expertise
  • Develop your business
  • Develop your people
  • Access our graduates
  • Success stories
  • News and events
  • A caring, just and more equitable society
  • Diverse cultures and creative excellence
  • Greener and more sustainable futures
  • Start well, live well, age well
  • Sustainable growth
  • Case studies
  • Research Excellence Framework
  • Engaging the public with our research
  • Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Our commitment to researchers
  • Scholarships
  • Academic partnerships
  • Ethics and Governance
  • Responsible metrics
  • Internationalisation
  • Board of Governors
  • Vice-Chancellor
  • University Executive Group
  • Faculty of Arts and Humanities
  • Faculty of Business and Law
  • Faculty of Health and Education
  • Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Professional Services
  • Research centres
  • Honorary graduates
  • Environment
  • Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Close Search mmu.ac.uk Search
  • Undergraduate
  • Postgraduate
  • Apprenticeships
  • Become a degree apprentice
  • Accommodation
  • Course enquiries
  • International
  • Study at Manchester Met
  • International partnerships
  • Business and employers
  • Our Expertise
  • Our research
  • Research Integrity
  • Our strategy
  • Current students
  • BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing

English and Creative Writing

If you want to get serious about creative writing, the Manchester Writing School – with a proven reputation for developing gifted students into award-winning professional writers – is the ideal place to start.

Course overview

Our creative writing courses are taught by world-renowned writers from The Manchester Writing School ; one of the most successful of its kind in the UK, with more than 95 graduates and MA students who’ve gone on to become published writers. But skilled writers must also be well-developed readers and this course offers the best of both worlds, allowing you to combine Creative Writing and English as part of a joint degree.

While studying and practising creative writing, you’ll take a range of options from the English degree, including American literature, film, television and cultural studies. As you progress, you’ll have the chance to take part in creative writing workshops, focussing on two options from the selection of: prose, poetry, script and digital. Our placement ro...

What you need to know

  • When does the course start? September 2024

3 years full-time

4 years with placement year or study abroad

4-9 years part-time

  • How many UCAS points do I need? 104-112
  • Where will I study this course? Manchester

Features and benefits

"Looking at other people's writing and learning about history, sociology and philosophy broadens your own perspective and helps you to think about things in different ways, to become a better writer." Samman BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing

Course Information

In creative writing, students study and practise the art and craft of writing in a wide range of established and new forms, from prose fiction and poetry to screenwriting and writing for computer games. A range of award-winning and internationally celebrated writers teach on the BA programme, including Helen Mort, Andrew McMillan, Andrew Hurley, Kim Moore, Malika Booker, Susan Barker, Lara Williams, Michael Symmons Roberts, Rachel Genn, Rachel Lichtenstein, Anjum Malik, Nikolai Duffy, Catherine Fox, Livi Michael, Gregory Norminton, Adam O’Riordan, Joe Stretch, Antony Rowland and Jean Sprackland.

Accreditations, Awards and Endorsements

National Student Survey 2023 (NSS) 95.8% student satisfaction - In response to: How good are teaching staff at explaining things?

You will explore genres and understand these in terms of formal and thematic properties. You will examine the relationships between poetry, prose and drama by studying some of the major works that define each genre. You will also consider the reasons why writers make generic and formal choices and in your own creative writing, you will be encouraged to experiment in genres and forms, engaging critically with issues raised by each.

Approaches to Narrative

An introduction to the analysis of narrative forms and genres, focussing primarily on pre-20th Century, 20th and 21st Century texts.

Language and Technique

An introduction to writing techniques focussing primarily on the crafting processes of poetry and prose. 

This unit introduces key skills for university study, progressing to research, writing and project development. You will learn skills of close reading and textual analysis, practice on a range of cultural forms and focussed on representations of Manchester as a diverse, international city. You will then develop your own independent project and put into practice the analytical skills developed. 

Story and Structure

An introduction to the conventions of storytelling focussing on forms such as flash fiction, short stories, screenwriting and writing for theatre.

Study and assessment breakdown

  • Year 1 30% lectures, seminars or similar; 70% independent study
  • Year 2 30% lectures, seminars or similar; 70% independent study
  • Year 3 100% placement (optional)
  • Year 4 10% lectures, seminars or similar; 90% independent study
  • Year 1 100% coursework
  • Year 2 100% coursework
  • Year 4 100% coursework

Optional foundation year

  • Study 25% lectures, seminars or similar; 75% independent study
  • Assessment 100% coursework

Placement options

Placement opportunities may be available both in the UK and abroad, in a variety of roles and sectors.

Our dedicated placement team have developed excellent links with various industries. You will be offered support through a preparation programme of activities that includes guidance on selection procedures, working overseas, CV preparation, interview and selection techniques.

You will begin to specialise by taking two out of four writing workshop modules in poetry, script and digital taught by practising writers. You will be encouraged to experiment, to engage with issues raised by formal choices such as point of view and diction, and to develop workshop and editorial skills. You will also learn about the history of the literary transmission of texts. This focuses specifically on texts and their relation to technologies of the age, and the nature and resources of the literary artist. In addition, you will select option units from the wider English programme, including opportunities to study film, and American literature and culture.

Please note, these option units are indicative of what options may be on offer in Year 2 of this programme but may be subject to change.

Creative Workshop 1

Students focus on two literary forms chosen from a list (for example prose, poetry, scriptwriting) and follow an intensive workshop for one semester. 

Remake/Remodel

Students explore literary adaptation, analysing how texts survive and evolve - how the meanings of stories, characters, poems, songs and ideas change across time and across forms. Students will be supported to make adaptations of material encountered on the unit. Students then explore the artistic process underpinning literary adaptation, examining a range of strategies by which a text or existing cultural artefact might be re-made. Students will make their own literary adaptation of an existing story, character, painting, videogame, piece of music or film, whilst reflecting critically on the process.  

Option units

Global challenges: green literature, film and media.

This unit will analyse the current climate crisis applying the methodologies of creative writing, English literature, or film and media studies.

Manchester City of Literature

This unit will explore the organisations and activities that make up Manchester’s UNESCO City of Literature network, and assess ways in which literary activity can help cities address contemporary global challenges.

Fit for the Future

The unit will take students through the various stages of recruitment from identifying strengths and skills, to job searching and CVs, using platforms such as LinkedIn, and interview practice. Students will build up a portfolio of tasks related to employability, for instance, CV, video interview, assessment centre and reflect on their learning across the unit.

19th Century Writing to Modernism

A unit that is about reading in context, focussing on the relationship between aesthetic form, thematic content and historical context in a diverse range of texts and genres from the 19th to early 20th centuries. 

American Contemporary Literature & Culture

You will practise reading in context, focussing on the relationships between aesthetic form, thematic content and historical context in a diverse range of texts and genres from the late 20th and early 21st centuries.

American Postwar Literature & Culture

A unit that is about reading in context, focussing on the relationships between aesthetic form, thematic content and the historical context in a diverse range of texts and genres from the 1940's-1970's.

Cultures of Resistance

This unit investigates cultures of resistance and their historical conditions. To do so, it places a range of resistant cultural texts in dialogue with relevant theoretical and critical material. 

Engaging the Humanities 1

An innovative unit which applies interdisciplinary methods and perspectives in a professional and/or public setting. Students work in interdisciplinary teams on one of a range of projects to showcase interdisciplinary skills in practice.

Engaging the Humanities 2

An innovative unit that applies interdisciplinary methods, approaches and perspectives of humanities and social science disciplines to contemporary socio-economic challenges, complementing Engaging the Humanities 1. Each year the unit will address a different contemporary issue or theme.

European Cinemas

This unit examines the films, industries, festivals and issues that make up the vibrant cinemas associated with the continent of Europe.

Postcolonial Literature and Culture

This unit explores the legacies of British colonialism as engaged in the literature and culture of postcolonial nations.

Postwar & Contemporary Literature & Culture

A unit that is about reading in context. You will initially focus on a diverse range of texts and genres from the 1940s to the 1970s, considering the relationships between aesthetic form, thematic content and historical context.  Focus will then move onto the relationships between aesthetic form, thematic content and historical context in a diverse range of texts and genres from the late 20th and early 21st centuries.

Romanticism

This unit examines British literature and culture during one of its most significant periods, from the Revolutionary Controversy of the 1790s to the end of the Romantic movement around 1830.

World Cinemas

This unit explores the production, reception and dissemination of non-Anglo-American cinema and provides students with the necessary tools to explore global screen cultures. In this unit students will interrogate the issues and experiences of transnational interaction and cross-cultural appropriation, the problems with the concept of authentic `national cinema', and consider the depiction of 'third world' and 'diaspora' populations.

If you choose one of our four-year routes, Year 3 will be spent on placement or studying abroad.

In your final year, you will work with a writer from our team to design and undertake an extended creative project in an area of your choice. Please note that the following list of units is indicative and may be subject to change.

Creative Project

You will work with a supervisor from our creative writing team to define an independent project in a form, and on a topic, of your choosing. This may be focussed on the production of a creative artefact -  e.g. a book of poems, a screenplay or a novel chapter - or may involve working on a creative project with an external partner beyond the University, for example an organisation in the creative industries. You will conduct preliminary research, submit a detailed proposal, and undertake a major piece of creative work. 

Study Abroad Semester

The Study Abroad unit will involve study for one semester at an approved partner University overseas.

Introduction to Teaching

The unit will aim to introduce English as a core curriculum subject in secondary schools and as an A-level subject. It will provide students with insight into the application of their subject specialism to teaching in school and colleges in England, covering aspects of both curriculum content and subject pedagogy.

American Cinema & National Identity

This unit will focus on representations of the United States’ history, culture and selfhood promulgated by the nation’s movie industry from the early twentieth century to the present day; exploring how Hollywood has articulated, interrogated and dominated available ideas of American national identity.

American Sounds and the City

American Sounds and the City combines the study of American literature, film and music to explore the soundscapes of the American city. 

American Spaces

Touching upon a broad range of genres, this unit is concerned with critical and creative conceptions of 'space' and travel (both geographic and metaphorical) in American literature from colonial times to the present.

LGBTQ+ Screens and Cultures

This unit draws on LGBT Studies and Queer Studies to analyse cultural constructions (and manifestations) of non-normative sex, sexes and sexualities.

Cultures of Life and Death: Debates In Contemporary Literature, Film and Theory

This unit investigates the question of the human in contemporary cultural debate. To do so, it draws upon theoretical and critical work in the field and sets these conceptual frameworks in dialogue with a wide range of literary and cinematic texts. 

Escapade: Writing Creative Non-Fiction

This unit teaches you how to tell true stories in a post-truth world, how to narrate real-life events (escapades) through innovations in essay writing, observational fieldnotes, literary journalism, life writing and narrative scholarship in a range of media and to understand the ethical consequences of doing so. 

Gothic on Screen

This unit provides an analytical study of the gothic mode on screen.

Introduction to Book Publishing

This unit will introduce students to all parts of the book publishing process and industry. Through practical exercises and interactive lectures, students will learn how the industry developed, specialist genres such as children's publishing and how publishers commission, edit, design and produce books in all formats. 

Popular Fiction: Reading and Writing Genre

This unit explores novels and novellas for adults that can be categorised as belonging to recognisable commercial and popular genres. You will be expected to engage both critically and creatively a range of genres.

Postcolonialism & Popular Culture

This unit explores the relationship between postcolonialism and popular culture, examining the ways in which colonial histories and legacies are interrogated, mythologised or sublimated within popular cultural forms.

Race and Popular Culture

This unit explores the relationship between race, postcolonialism and popular culture, examining the ways in which colonial histories and legacies are interrogated, mythologised or sublimated within popular cultural forms.

Reading and Writing Children's Literature

This unit provides an analytical study of a range of classic and modern texts written for children. It also uses these texts as models for the production of new texts. The unit also covers appropriate techniques for writing for children. 

Reading and Writing Games

This unit provides an analytical study of a range of twenty and twenty-first century games, both analogue and digital. Students will be introduced to the critical and historical field of game studies, and given guidance on the appropriate techniques for writing for gaming and the experience of working with pre-determined project briefs.

Reading and Writing Poetry

This unit focuses on reading and analysing a representative range of work by contemporary poets, and introduces students to relevant critical work. It equips students with critical, analytical and writing skills to read and write poetry effectively. Assessment will give students the opportunity to produce written work in critical and creative modes, and to reflect analytically on their own work. The unit will provide students with the opportunity to attend a major poetry event (e.g. the Forward Prize or the T. S. Eliot prize awards) and to visit poetry readings. 

Reading Contemporary Poetry

This unit introduces students to the range and diversity of contemporary poetry, and develops students' own critical skills in relation to the study of contemporary poetry.

Reading Games

This unit provides an analytical study of a range of twenty and twenty-first century games, both analogue and digital. Students will be introduced to the critical and historical field of game studies, and given guidance on the appropriate critical approaches and terminology to enable them to read games and gaming.

Renegade: Writing Literary Fiction

Students will read and research a range of texts and map the terrain of contemporary literary fiction. Students will engage in current debates around the meaning and vitality of literary fiction and the way it intersects with various political movements. Students will engage and experiment with the formal innovation that defines contemporary literary fiction. Students will ultimately offer their own creative responses to the formal and political concerns of the moment through their own creative writing. 

Representing Trauma

This unit is concerned with critical and creative conceptions, constructions and depictions of forms of violence and trauma, and introduces students to representations and theories of trauma drawn from multiple locations (temporal and geographic).

Shakespeare

This unit looks at Shakespeare's plays and poems in regard to both his contemporary intellectual, political and social meanings and effect, and the influence of his work on subsequent culture, in terms reception, adaptation and reinvention. 

The Global Body

This unit explores ideas and attitudes towards human bodies, medicine and technology in contemporary world literature, film and theory.

Writing and Place

This unit will critically analyse the representation of place in key contemporary texts. These texts, drawn from a range of genres, will be evaluated within the frameworks (including literary geography and ecocriticism) provided by contemporary theoretical debates. The unit will also situate creative and conceptual writing about place within the context of 'real world debates': topics to be covered will include environmental crisis, regeneration and the post-industrial city, and digital technologies and spatial literacy.

Writing Literary Fiction

Writing series drama.

A creative advanced Scriptwriting course which develops skills in team storylining and individual scriptwriting skills in the context of the study of contemporary professional practice.

Whether you’ve already made your decision about what you want to study, or you’re just considering your options, there are lots of ways you can meet us and find out more about student life at Manchester Met.

  • a virtual experience campus tour
  • chats with current students

Taught by Experts

Your studies are supported by a department of committed and enthusiastic teachers and researchers, experts in their chosen field.

We often link up with external professionals too, helping to enhance your learning and build valuable connections to the working world.

Entry Requirements

These typical entry requirements may be subject to change for the 2024/25 academic year. Please check back for further details.

UCAS Tariff points

GCE A levels - grades BCC or equivalent

Pearson BTEC National Extended Diploma - grade DMM

Access to HE Diploma - Pass overall with a minimum 106 UCAS Tariff points

UAL Level 3 Extended Diploma - grade of Merit overall

OCR Cambridge Technical Extended Diploma - grade DMM

T level - We welcome applications from students undertaking T level qualifications. Eligible applicants will be asked to achieve a minimum overall grade of Merit as a condition of offer

IB Diploma - Pass overall with a minimum overall score of 26 or minimum 104 UCAS Tariff points from three Higher Level subjects

Other Level 3 qualifications equivalent to GCE A level are also considered. 

A maximum of three A level-equivalent qualifications will be accepted towards meeting the UCAS tariff requirement. 

AS levels, or qualifications equivalent to AS level, are not accepted. The Extended Project qualification (EPQ) may be accepted towards entry, in conjunction with two A-level equivalent qualifications.

Please contact the University directly if you are unsure whether you meet the minimum entry requirements for the course.

Specific GCSE Requirements

GCSE grade C/4 in English Language or equivalent, e.g. Pass in Level 2 Functional Skills English

International Baccalaureate points

Ielts score required for international students.

There’s further information for international students on our international website if you’re applying with non-UK qualifications.

Fees and Funding

Foundation year students.

UK, EU and Channel Islands full-time foundation year fee: £9,250 per year for the foundation year. This tuition fee is agreed subject to UK government policy and parliamentary regulation and may increase each academic year in line with inflation or UK government policy for both new and continuing students.

Non-EU international full-time foundation year fee: £18,500 per year. When progressing from the pre-degree foundation year to the linked degree. Tuition fees will remain the same for each year of your course providing you complete it in the normal timeframe (no repeat years or breaks in study)

UK and Channel Island Students

Full-time fee: £9,250 per year. This tuition fee is agreed subject to UK government policy and parliamentary regulation and may increase each academic year in line with inflation or UK government policy for both new and continuing students.

Part-time fee: £2312.50 per 30 credits studied per year. This tuition fee is agreed subject to UK government policy and parliamentary regulation and may increase each academic year in line with inflation or UK government policy for both new and continuing students.

EU and Non-EU International Students

Full-time fee: £18,500 per year. Tuition fees will remain the same for each year of your course providing you complete it in the normal timeframe (no repeat years or breaks in study).

Part-time fee: £4625 per 30 credits studied per year. Tuition fees will remain the same for each year of your course providing you complete it in the normal timeframe (no repeat years or breaks in study).

Additional Information

A degree typically comprises 360 credits, a DipHE 240 credits, a CertHE 120 credits, and an integrated masters 480 credits. The tuition fee for the placement year for those courses that offer this option is £1,850, subject to inflationary increases based on government policy and providing you progress through the course in the normal timeframe (no repeat years or breaks in study). The tuition fee for the study year abroad for those courses that offer this option is £1,385, subject to inflationary increases based on government policy and providing you progress through the course in the normal timeframe (no repeat years or breaks in study).

Part-time students may take a maximum of 90 credits each academic year.

Additional Costs

Specialist costs.

Compulsory estimate : £300

For the BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing course, students must have access to a copy of all set texts. Primary texts are held in the University library but students often prefer to possess their own copy. Prices vary but many are cheaply available and set texts are often available online for no cost. Students often buy texts second hand, and there is a book exchange in the atrium of the Geoffrey Manton building. Students often choose to buy their own laptops but computers are available on campus. Students may also need to print their assignments and other documents.

Some option units include trips to relevant events or venues, such as theatres, exhibitions and libraries, which are all optional.

Find out more about financing your studies and whether you may qualify for one of our bursaries and scholarships

First Generation

Dedicated funding and support for first generation students

Career Prospects

Graduates enter a wide range of careers, especially media work and teaching, where their transferable skills are particularly relevant. Recent graduates have become school and college teachers, and gained employment in fields as diverse as banking, finance, manufacturing and retail.

There is also the opportunity to engage in further study and professional training, for example some of our graduates go on to study MA English Studies at postgraduate level where you have the opportunity to build your own bespoke masters experience, reflecting your interests in the further study of English. Alongside this we offer MA Publishing , delivered in collaboration with industry professionals, and many of our students go on to study MA/MFA Creative Writing at our Manchester Writing School , under the creative direction of Professor Carol Ann Duffy DBE (Poet laureate 2009-2019).

Want to know more

Got a question.

You can apply for the full-time option of this course through UCAS.

Institution code: M40

Apply for other study options:

Please contact our course enquiries team.

Get advice and support on making a successful application.

You can review our current Terms and Conditions before you make your application. If you are successful with your application, we will send you up to date information alongside your offer letter.

Manchester is your city, be part of it

Your new home, your new city, why university, related courses, english and film, creative writing.

Programme Review Our programmes undergo an annual review and major review (normally at 6 year intervals) to ensure an up-to-date curriculum supported by the latest online learning technology. For further information on when we may make changes to our programmes, please see the changes section of our Terms and Conditions .

Important Notice This online prospectus provides an overview of our programmes of study and the University. We regularly update our online prospectus so that our published course information is accurate. Please check back to the online prospectus before making an application to us to access the most up to date information for your chosen course of study.

Confirmation of Regulator The Manchester Metropolitan University is regulated by the Office for Students (OfS). The OfS is the independent regulator of higher education in England. More information on the role of the OfS and its regulatory framework can be found at officeforstudents.org.uk .

All higher education providers registered with the OfS must have a student protection plan in place. The student protection plan sets out what students can expect to happen should a course, campus, or institution close. Access our current Student Protection Plan .

IMAGES

  1. MA Creative Writing

    creative writing ma manchester

  2. MA Creative Writing · Manchester Metropolitan University

    creative writing ma manchester

  3. Top 4 Creative Writing Courses in Manchester in [year]

    creative writing ma manchester

  4. Courses

    creative writing ma manchester

  5. Manchester Writing School hosts 2017 Creative Writing Summer School

    creative writing ma manchester

  6. Manchester Creative Writing Society 2015

    creative writing ma manchester

VIDEO

  1. Diploma in Creative Writing in English Course DCE 6

  2. Academic Writing Center: Mitigating Students' Writing Challenges

  3. writing ma with rose next is papa love art with rose next time I will draw together byyy

  4. Swimming in the honey. Writing ma book ✍️ 🦄

  5. Cầu thủ mà Manchester United cần nhất lúc này...👹🔥

COMMENTS

  1. MA Creative Writing (2024 entry)

    Creative writing Open days Find out what it's like to study at Manchester by visiting us on one of our open days . Fees For entry in the academic year beginning September 2024, the tuition fees are as follows: MA (full-time)

  2. MA Creative Writing · Manchester Metropolitan University

    At the heart of the Manchester Writing School are our masters programmes in creative writing, available to study on campus in Manchester, and also from anywhere in the world via online distance learning.. MA Creative Writing can be tailored to suit your writing preferences by following a specialist route in novel (including short fiction), poetry, writing for children & young adults ...

  3. MA Creative Writing

    MA Creative Writing MA Creative Writing / Application and selection Year of entry: 2024 View tabs View full page Overview Entry requirements Application and selection Course details Careers How to apply Apply online How your application is considered Entry to the course is competitive and there are always many more applicants than places.

  4. English, Publishing and Creative Writing

    MA/MFA Creative Writing is based in the hugely successful Manchester Writing School and is taught by award-winning writers and critics with direct experience of the creative, editorial and publishing processes. You'll have the opportunity to specialise in a route that interests you with the support of our internationally-renowned academics.

  5. Courses

    Courses Courses Creative Writing courses at The University of Manchester. Whether you want to study Creative Writing at an undergraduate, MA or PhD level, we have a course or programme in poetry, prose or screenwriting to meet your needs. Creative Writing courses

  6. Study

    We offer taught MA courses and PhD research programmes in critical and creative writing, and unique writer events. You'll learn how to read as a writer reads, find a fresh, clear voice and hone your skills to the point of submission for publication or of producing professional work for television and film. There are Creative Writing courses at ...

  7. Courses at Manchester Writing School

    Open days Course enquiries If you want to get serious about creative writing or publishing, the Manchester Writing School - with a proven reputation for developing gifted students into award-winning professional writers and industry experts - is the ideal place to start.

  8. Manchester Metropolitan University: Creative Writing

    The MA is available to complete in one year full-time or two years part-time. The Novel, Poetry and Scriptwriting routes are available to study on campus (full-time or part-time) or online (part-time only). The Writing for Children and Creative Non-Fiction routes are online (part-time) only.

  9. Centre for New Writing

    Find out about the Centre for New Writing at The University of Manchester - its courses, events, award-winning writers, alumni and teaching staff. ... MA Creative Writing; MA Modern and Contemporary Literature; MA Playwriting; MA Screenwriting; PhD Creative Writing; Why study here? Literature in Manchester;

  10. MA Creative Writing Program By The University of Manchester |Top

    The University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom. Request More Details. Compare. QS World University Rankings. 28. Degree MA. Study Level Masters. Course Intensity Full Time. Fees (GBP) 19000-.

  11. Creative Writing, M.A.

    On the Creative Writing programme from Manchester Metropolitan University, you will explore and practice techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing and apply these through the development of your own creative work. ... Scriptwriting (for stage, screen or radio) or Creative Non-Fiction. The MA is available to complete in one year ...

  12. MA Creative Writing

    At the heart of the Manchester Writing School are our masters programmes in Creative Writing, available to study on campus in Manchester and also from anywhere in the world via online distance learning. On our Master of Arts (MA) Creative Writing programme, you will explore and practice techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing ...

  13. Manchester Writing School

    Manchester Metropolitan was one of the first universities in the UK to teach creative writing and is home to one of the world's largest and most successful writing schools.

  14. Creative Writing, MA, at Manchester Metropolitan University

    You will specialise in one of the following routes: Novel (including Short Fiction), Poetry, Writing for Children & Young Adults, Scriptwriting (for stage, screen or radio) or Creative Non-Fiction. The MA is available to complete in one year full-time or two years part-time. This course is available to study on campus (full-time or part-time ...

  15. The Manchester Anthology

    The Manchester Anthology. As a Creative Writing MA student at the Centre for New Writing, you will get the opportunity to have a piece of fiction or poetry published in The Manchester Anthology when you graduate. The Anthology comes out each September and as well as having your work featured in it, you could also gain invaluable experience of ...

  16. MA Creative Writing: Innovation and Experiment

    Manchester's creative hub is a vibrant and exciting place to study, build community and nurture your writing talent. Learn more about our MA Creative Writing courses by signing up to one of our open days .

  17. MA in Creative Writing by Manchester Metropolitan University: Fee

    This course offers a comprehensive exploration of creative writing techniques, literary analysis, and professional development opportunities, catering to individuals passionate about honing their writing abilities and pursuing careers in the field of creative writing

  18. Creative Writing PhD · Manchester Metropolitan University

    The PhD in Creative Writing (also known as the critical-creative, or practice-based PhD) combines a proposed manuscript (e.g. novel, short story collection, poems, playscript, narrative non-fiction, digital writing) with an element of supporting or contextualising research.

  19. BA (Hons) Creative Writing · Manchester Metropolitan University

    104-112 Where will I study this course? Manchester Features and benefits You'll learn from the experience and expertise of a wide range of leading poets, novelists and scriptwriters based at The Manchester Writing School, one of the largest and one of the most successful of its kind in the UK.

  20. MA Creative Writing · Manchester Metropolitan University

    On our Master of Arts (MA) Creative Writing programme, you will explore and practice techniques and styles of modern and contemporary writing and apply these through the development of your own creative work.

  21. BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing

    If you want to get serious about creative writing, the Manchester Writing School - with a proven reputation for developing gifted students into award-winning professional writers - is the ideal place to start. Overview Course information Entry requirements Fees Career prospects How to apply Book an open day Course overview