We will keep fighting for all libraries - stand with us!

Internet Archive Audio

my brother biography

  • This Just In
  • Grateful Dead
  • Old Time Radio
  • 78 RPMs and Cylinder Recordings
  • Audio Books & Poetry
  • Computers, Technology and Science
  • Music, Arts & Culture
  • News & Public Affairs
  • Spirituality & Religion
  • Radio News Archive

my brother biography

  • Flickr Commons
  • Occupy Wall Street Flickr
  • NASA Images
  • Solar System Collection
  • Ames Research Center

my brother biography

  • All Software
  • Old School Emulation
  • MS-DOS Games
  • Historical Software
  • Classic PC Games
  • Software Library
  • Kodi Archive and Support File
  • Vintage Software
  • CD-ROM Software
  • CD-ROM Software Library
  • Software Sites
  • Tucows Software Library
  • Shareware CD-ROMs
  • Software Capsules Compilation
  • CD-ROM Images
  • ZX Spectrum
  • DOOM Level CD

my brother biography

  • Smithsonian Libraries
  • FEDLINK (US)
  • Lincoln Collection
  • American Libraries
  • Canadian Libraries
  • Universal Library
  • Project Gutenberg
  • Children's Library
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library
  • Books by Language
  • Additional Collections

my brother biography

  • Prelinger Archives
  • Democracy Now!
  • Occupy Wall Street
  • TV NSA Clip Library
  • Animation & Cartoons
  • Arts & Music
  • Computers & Technology
  • Cultural & Academic Films
  • Ephemeral Films
  • Sports Videos
  • Videogame Videos
  • Youth Media

Search the history of over 867 billion web pages on the Internet.

Mobile Apps

  • Wayback Machine (iOS)
  • Wayback Machine (Android)

Browser Extensions

Archive-it subscription.

  • Explore the Collections
  • Build Collections

Save Page Now

Capture a web page as it appears now for use as a trusted citation in the future.

Please enter a valid web address

  • Donate Donate icon An illustration of a heart shape

My Brother - Fatima Jinnah

Bookreader item preview, share or embed this item, flag this item for.

  • Graphic Violence
  • Explicit Sexual Content
  • Hate Speech
  • Misinformation/Disinformation
  • Marketing/Phishing/Advertising
  • Misleading/Inaccurate/Missing Metadata

Creative Commons License

plus-circle Add Review comment Reviews

Download options, in collections.

Uploaded by World Politics on June 28, 2022

SIMILAR ITEMS (based on metadata)

R&L Logo

  • Browse by Subjects
  • New Releases
  • Coming Soon
  • Chases's Calendar
  • Browse by Course
  • Instructor's Copies
  • Monographs & Research
  • Intelligence & Security
  • Library Services
  • Business & Leadership
  • Museum Studies
  • Pastoral Resources
  • Psychotherapy

Cover Image

My Brother, Muhammad Ali

The definitive biography, rahaman ali - with fiaz rafiq - foreword by jim brown, also available.

Cover image for the book Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy Life of Johnny Tapia

my brother biography

  • Arts & Photography

Amazon prime logo

Enjoy fast, free delivery, exclusive deals, and award-winning movies & TV shows with Prime Try Prime and start saving today with fast, free delivery

Amazon Prime includes:

Fast, FREE Delivery is available to Prime members. To join, select "Try Amazon Prime and start saving today with Fast, FREE Delivery" below the Add to Cart button.

  • Cardmembers earn 5% Back at Amazon.com with a Prime Credit Card.
  • Unlimited Free Two-Day Delivery
  • Instant streaming of thousands of movies and TV episodes with Prime Video
  • A Kindle book to borrow for free each month - with no due dates
  • Listen to over 2 million songs and hundreds of playlists
  • Unlimited photo storage with anywhere access

Important:  Your credit card will NOT be charged when you start your free trial or if you cancel during the trial period. If you're happy with Amazon Prime, do nothing. At the end of the free trial, your membership will automatically upgrade to a monthly membership.

Audible Logo

Buy new: $17.95 $17.95 FREE delivery: Friday, Jan 19 on orders over $35.00 shipped by Amazon. Ships from: Amazon.com Sold by: Amazon.com

  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
  • Go to your orders and start the return
  • Select the return method

Buy used: $9.99

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required .

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Image Unavailable

Michael: My Brother, Lost Boy of INXS

  • To view this video download Flash Player

Follow the author

my brother biography

Michael: My Brother, Lost Boy of INXS Paperback – May 1, 2020

Purchase options and add-ons.

  • Book Description
  • Editorial Reviews

About the Author

  • Print length 320 pages
  • Language English
  • Publisher Allen & Unwin
  • Publication date May 1, 2020
  • Dimensions 5 x 1 x 7.75 inches
  • ISBN-10 1760876968
  • ISBN-13 978-1760876968
  • See all details

The Amazon Book Review

Frequently bought together

Michael: My Brother, Lost Boy of INXS

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

INXS Story to Story: the official biography

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Allen & Unwin (May 1, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1760876968
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1760876968
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 10.9 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5 x 1 x 7.75 inches
  • #513 in Rock Band Biographies
  • #543 in Rock Music (Books)

Important information

To report an issue with this product or seller, click here .

About the author

Tina hutchence.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews, including Product Star Ratings help customers to learn more about the product and decide whether it is the right product for them.

To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. It also analyzed reviews to verify trustworthiness.

Reviews with images

Customer Image

  • Sort reviews by Top reviews Most recent Top reviews

Top reviews from the United States

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. please try again later..

my brother biography

Top reviews from other countries

my brother biography

  • Amazon Newsletter
  • About Amazon
  • Accessibility
  • Sustainability
  • Press Center
  • Investor Relations
  • Amazon Devices
  • Amazon Science
  • Start Selling with Amazon
  • Sell apps on Amazon
  • Supply to Amazon
  • Protect & Build Your Brand
  • Become an Affiliate
  • Become a Delivery Driver
  • Start a Package Delivery Business
  • Advertise Your Products
  • Self-Publish with Us
  • Host an Amazon Hub
  • › See More Ways to Make Money
  • Amazon Visa
  • Amazon Store Card
  • Amazon Secured Card
  • Amazon Business Card
  • Shop with Points
  • Credit Card Marketplace
  • Reload Your Balance
  • Amazon Currency Converter
  • Your Account
  • Your Orders
  • Shipping Rates & Policies
  • Amazon Prime
  • Returns & Replacements
  • Manage Your Content and Devices
  • Recalls and Product Safety Alerts
  • Conditions of Use
  • Privacy Notice
  • Your Ads Privacy Choices

Authors & Events

Recommendations

Picture Books We Can’t Wait To Read in 2024

  • New & Noteworthy
  • Bestsellers
  • Popular Series
  • The Must-Read Books of 2023
  • Popular Books in Spanish
  • Coming Soon
  • Literary Fiction
  • Mystery & Thriller
  • Science Fiction
  • Spanish Language Fiction
  • Biographies & Memoirs
  • Spanish Language Nonfiction
  • Dark Star Trilogy
  • Ramses the Damned
  • Penguin Classics
  • Award Winners
  • The Parenting Book Guide
  • Books to Read Before Bed
  • Books for Middle Graders
  • Trending Series
  • Magic Tree House
  • The Last Kids on Earth
  • Planet Omar
  • Beloved Characters
  • The World of Eric Carle
  • Llama Llama
  • Junie B. Jones
  • Peter Rabbit
  • Board Books
  • Picture Books
  • Guided Reading Levels
  • Middle Grade
  • Activity Books
  • Trending This Week
  • Top Must-Read Romances
  • Page-Turning Series To Start Now
  • Books to Cope With Anxiety
  • Short Reads
  • Anti-Racist Resources
  • Staff Picks
  • Memoir & Fiction
  • Features & Interviews
  • Emma Brodie Interview
  • James Ellroy Interview
  • Nicola Yoon Interview
  • Qian Julie Wang Interview
  • Deepak Chopra Essay
  • How Can I Get Published?
  • For Book Clubs
  • Reese's Book Club
  • Oprah’s Book Club
  • happy place " data-category="popular" data-location="header">Guide: Happy Place
  • the last white man " data-category="popular" data-location="header">Guide: The Last White Man
  • Authors & Events >
  • Our Authors
  • Michelle Obama
  • Zadie Smith
  • Emily Henry
  • Cormac McCarthy
  • Colson Whitehead
  • In Their Own Words
  • Qian Julie Wang
  • Patrick Radden Keefe
  • Phoebe Robinson
  • Emma Brodie
  • Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Laura Hankin
  • Recommendations >
  • 21 Books To Help You Learn Something New
  • Books With New TV and Movie Adaptations
  • Insightful Therapy Books To Read This Year
  • Historical Fiction With Female Protagonists
  • Best Thrillers of All Time
  • Manga and Graphic Novels
  • happy place " data-category="recommendations" data-location="header">Start Reading Happy Place
  • How to Make Reading a Habit with James Clear
  • Why Reading Is Good for Your Health
  • Vallery Lomas’ Blueberry Buckle Recipe
  • New Releases
  • Memoirs Read by the Author
  • Our Most Soothing Narrators
  • Press Play for Inspiration
  • Audiobooks You Just Can't Pause
  • Listen With the Whole Family

Penguin Random House

Look Inside

My Brother Moochie

Regaining Dignity in the Face of Crime, Poverty, and Racism in the American South

By Issac J. Bailey

Category: biography & memoir.

Feb 04, 2020 | ISBN 9781635420036 | 5-1/4 x 8 --> | ISBN 9781635420036 --> Buy

May 29, 2018 | ISBN 9781590518601 | 5-1/2 x 8-1/4 --> | ISBN 9781590518601 --> Buy

May 29, 2018 | ISBN 9781590518618 | ISBN 9781590518618 --> Buy

Buy from Other Retailers:

My Brother Moochie by Issac J. Bailey

Feb 04, 2020 | ISBN 9781635420036

May 29, 2018 | ISBN 9781590518601

May 29, 2018 | ISBN 9781590518618

Buy the Ebook:

  • Barnes & Noble
  • Books A Million
  • Google Play Store

About My Brother Moochie

A journalist’s raw, first-person account of what his family endured after his eldest brother killed a man and was sentenced to life in prison. At the age of nine, Issac J. Bailey saw his hero, his eldest brother, taken away in handcuffs, not to return from prison for thirty-two years. Bailey tells the story of their relationship and of his experience living in a family suffering guilt and shame. Drawing on sociological research as well as his expertise as a journalist, he seeks to answer the crucial question of why Moochie and many other young black men—including half of the ten boys in his own family—end up in the criminal justice system. What role did poverty, race, and faith play? What effect did living in the South, in the Bible Belt, have? And why is their experience understood as an acceptable trope for black men, while white people who commit crimes are never seen in this generalized way? My Brother Moochie provides a wide-ranging yet intensely intimate view of crime and incarceration in the United States, and the devastating effects on the incarcerated, their loved ones, their victims, and society as a whole.

A rare first-person account that combines a journalist’s skilled reporting with the raw emotion of a younger brother’s heartfelt testimony of what his family endured after his eldest brother killed a man and was sentenced to life in prison.   At the age of nine, Issac J. Bailey saw his hero, his eldest brother, taken away in handcuffs, not to return from prison for thirty-two years. Bailey tells the story of their relationship and of his experience living in a family suffering from guilt and shame. Drawing on sociological research as well as his expertise as a journalist, he seeks to answer the crucial question of why Moochie and many other young black men—including half of the ten boys in his own family—end up in the criminal justice system. What role do poverty, race, and faith play? What effect does living in the South, in the Bible Belt, have? And why is their experience understood as an acceptable trope for black men, while white people who commit crimes are never seen in this generalized way?   My Brother Moochie  provides a wide-ranging yet intensely intimate view of crime and incarceration in the United States, and the devastating effects on the incarcerated, their loved ones, their victims, and society as a whole. It also offers hope for families caught in the incarceration trap: though the Bailey family’s lows have included prison and bearing the responsibility for multiple deaths, their highs have included Harvard University, the White House, and a renewed sense of pride and understanding that presents a path forward.

Also by Issac J. Bailey

Why Didn't We Riot?

About Issac J. Bailey

Issac J. Bailey is an award-winning journalist and the James K. Batten Professor of Public Policy at Davidson College. He has been published in the New York Times, Washington Post, Charlotte Observer, Politico Magazine, Time, and many more, and has… More about Issac J. Bailey

Product Details

Category: biography & memoir, you may also like.

Book cover

A Question of Freedom

Book cover

A World Apart

Book cover

All the White Friends I Couldn’t Keep

Book cover

Louis D. Brandeis

Book cover

Last Man Standing

Book cover

The Revolt of the Cockroach People

Book cover

The Echo from Dealey Plaza

Book cover

A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity

“With a keen understanding of systemic racism… My Brother Moochie  delves into a rarely explored side of the criminal justice system: the families of the perpetrators…powerful.” — New York Times Book Review   “Bailey’s memoir is a triumph, a painful indictment of American inhumanity woven with threads of grace and love…an extraordinary book about crime, punishment, redemption, and the empowerment that can spring from adversity…nuanced, original, and remarkably clear-sighted.” — The Guardian “An elegant memoir that speaks to the inequities of the criminal justice system and the damage done to family and community when loved ones are locked away…Bailey tells his story with a raw honesty [and] boldly examines the fault lines etched so sharply in our current cultural landscape.” — USA Today “[A] beautifully written book. Its author will inevitably be compared with Ta-Nehisi Coates, recently hailed as the essential voice of black America. But Mr. Bailey’s writing has much more concrete detail on lives lived one misjudgment away from prison.” — The Economist “A raw exploration of [Bailey’s] relationship to his brother and incarceration writ large, as well as an analysis of the factors that entrap young black men in the South in the criminal justice system.” — Electric Literature , A Reading List for Understanding the Prison Industrial Complex “Deeply moving and powerfully written…[Bailey’s] unflinching account of his brother’s suffering is paired with reflections on community, race relations, and the impacts of poverty, crime, and shame.” — Booklist  (starred review) “Bailey refuses to make things easy for either his readers or himself; he avoids pat analysis of the scourge of racism and never settles for simple answers…There’s a catharsis for all by the end but no smooth path or easy arrival.” —Kirkus Reviews “Eye-opening… My Brother Moochie represents a much larger story about the deeply rooted effects of systematic racism, the Jim Crow South and how race, poverty, violence, crime, opportunity and drug abuse intersect.” —Ebony “Bailey has a relatable, multifaceted story to tell…compelling.” — Minneapolis Star Tribune   “Searing honesty—this is what most strikes me about Issac Bailey’s brave narrative. In paying tribute to fierce, at times despairing filial and familial love, he holds a mirror to the reader, daring any of us to deny the most self-evident of truths: human beings are deeply flawed  and  all of us are more than the worst thing we’ve ever done.” — Carol E. Quillen, President, Davidson College   “Issac Bailey’s book is one part call to action and another part mirror. A powerful reminder that we are given our skin and genetic fingerprint by nothing short of a lottery, but how we stand in it is often a product of how the world sees or doesn’t see us.  My Brother Moochie  should be on the desk of every schoolteacher, student, and policymaker in this country.”  — Jennifer Thompson, Founder/President of Healing Justice and coauthor of  Picking Cotton: Our Memoir of Injustice and Redemption   “In page-turning prose, Bailey explores the self-hatred engendered in him, his immediate family, and his broader communities, by the intersecting oppressions of racism, poverty, violence, and physical disability. But this is also a story of redemption.  My Brother Moochie  is, in fact, two eloquently interwoven coming-of-age stories: the author’s own story of growing up, silenced by a debilitating stutter but free to roam the streets of his neighborhood, and ultimately his country; and Moochie’s story of growing up, loudly speaking his truth, but only from within the cinderblock confinement of prison walls. The result is a read simultaneously heartbreaking and heartwarming.” —Keramet Reiter, author of  23/7: Pelican Bay Prison and the Rise of Long-Term Solitary Confinement

Visit other sites in the Penguin Random House Network

Raise kids who love to read

Today's Top Books

Want to know what people are actually reading right now?

An online magazine for today’s home cook

Stay in Touch

By clicking "Sign Up", I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that Penguin Random House collects certain categories of personal information for the purposes listed in that policy, discloses, sells, or shares certain personal information and retains personal information in accordance with the policy . You can opt-out of the sale or sharing of personal information anytime.

Just for joining you’ll get personalized recommendations on your dashboard daily and features only for members.

Point Status This is where you’ll see your current point status and your earned rewards. To redeem, copy and paste the code during the checkout process. See Account Overview

We use cookies to enhance our website for you. Proceed if you agree to this policy or learn more about it.

  • Essay Database >
  • Essays Samples >
  • Essay Types >
  • Biography Example

Brother Biographies Samples For Students

13 samples of this type

Regardless of how high you rate your writing skills, it's always a good idea to check out an expertly written Biography example, especially when you're handling a sophisticated Brother topic. This is precisely the case when WowEssays.com collection of sample Biographies on Brother will prove handy. Whether you need to brainstorm an original and meaningful Brother Biography topic or examine the paper's structure or formatting peculiarities, our samples will provide you with the required material.

Another activity area of our write my paper company is providing practical writing assistance to students working on Brother Biographies. Research help, editing, proofreading, formatting, plagiarism check, or even crafting completely original model Brother papers upon your request – we can do that all! Place an order and buy a research paper now.

Example Of Biography On Adolf Dassler

Adolf dassler’s life in germany, family and consumer science biography examples, best man speech, tecumseh biography example.

Don't waste your time searching for a sample.

Get your biography done by professional writers!

Just from $10/page

Autobiography Of Benjamin Franklin Biography Examples

Birth establishment and an emperor and early years biography sample, good peyton manning biography example, auto about my life biography sample, free biography on autobiographical essay, write by example of this salvador dali biography, free a biographical overview of dietrich bonhoeffer biography example, introduction, free biography about the autobiography of benjamin franklin, free steve jobs biography example.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice, and most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition.” Steve Jobs

Family Background Biography Example

Personal biography.

Password recovery email has been sent to [email protected]

Use your new password to log in

You are not register!

By clicking Register, you agree to our Terms of Service and that you have read our Privacy Policy .

Now you can download documents directly to your device!

Check your email! An email with your password has already been sent to you! Now you can download documents directly to your device.

or Use the QR code to Save this Paper to Your Phone

The sample is NOT original!

Short on a deadline?

Don't waste time. Get help with 11% off using code - GETWOWED

No, thanks! I'm fine with missing my deadline

  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

India’s Largest Career Transformation Portal

My Brother Essay | Essay on My Brother for Students in English

December 10, 2020 by Sandeep

My Brother Essay: I have a younger brother, whose name is Kevin. He is eight years old and studies in Class 3. My brother is cute and adorable. He is kind and polite by nature. We both love to spend time with each other. He is an intelligent kid, and everyone likes him. His favourite game is chess. We go to the same school and always have lunch together. He likes to share his secrets with me. I love my brother and hope we always share this amazing bond.

You have always come across questions like write an essay, paragraph, ten lines on my brother, so your quest end here. Below we have provided My Brother Essay in English, written in easy and simple words for classes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 school students.

Essay on My Brother in English

Below we have provided a few lines on my brother essay, written in easy and simple words.

“Brothers aren’t simply close; brothers are knit together”~ Robert Rivers.

Siblings are more like friends who never leave us alone. Most of us have a brother or a sister. The brother-sister bond is a special one. Even though they constantly argue, they share a deep friendship , and this friendship is the best thing one can ever ask for.

I have a younger brother. His name is Kevin, and he is 8 years old. He is a class 3 student of St. Paul school. He is an intelligent child who also excels in sports. Badminton is his favourite sport. He has won many medals in his school’s badminton championships. He is a jolly kid who is loved by everyone. After coming back from school, we both play together.

Our favourite indoor game is Carom. Evenings are always fun with him. His funny gestures make everyone happy. Being the youngest member of the family, he is the apple of everyone’s eyes. Kevin hardly gets angry. However, once a friend of mine was mocking me, and Kevin came to my rescue. That was an instance when he was furious.

My Brother Essay

His thoughtfulness makes him a wonderful person. He is the sweetest younger brother. I honestly cannot imagine growing up without him. Kevin has many friends. In school, he has always been popular. However, he loves to spend time alone. At home, I would often catch him reading comic books. He also likes to draw cartoons. He loves to watch animated movies. Finding Nemo is his favourite movie.

His other hobbies include gardening. Kevin has always been a gentle kid. He has a caring personality. While watering the plants, he would often sing a lullaby. Besides this, he loves eating tasty food. We always go to the nearby store and get ice creams. He also is a big fan of chocolates. The relationship between my brother and me is deep and special.

It only grows stronger with time. There are occasional fights and arguments. But at the end of the day, Kevin and I are always looking after each other. Having my little brother in my life is an amazing gift. Being an older sister, I am responsible for his well-being. I try my best to keep him happy and positive. I love my brother. I wish he gets all the happiness he deserves and more. He is my hero.

Honoring James Baldwin and the Enduring Power of His Words

James Baldwin Passport 1965 Photo

Most of Baldwin’s works explore the tensions of race, sexuality, and class in the United States. Precision, clarity, and honesty characterize these writings, many of which focus on his own experiences growing up poor, gay, and Black in urban America. Baldwin’s prolific writings include essays, novels, plays, articles, poems, and sermons. The exhibition at the National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) , “Making a Way Out of No Way” offers a compelling multi-media display that underscores the themes of activism, creativity, and identity, which frame Baldwin’s life.

Apart from his public role as a writer and activist, Baldwin was a family man. He was the oldest of nine siblings, with whom he maintained close ties despite the physical distance. His family also included literary kin, such as Maya Angelou , Toni Morrison and Lorraine Hansberry .

Early Life: Big Brother and Preacher

Baldwin was born in Harlem, New York on August 2, 1924, to Emma Berdis Jones. He was reared by his mother and stepfather David Baldwin, whom Baldwin referred to as his father and whom he described as extremely strict. As the oldest of nine siblings, Baldwin took seriously the responsibility of big brother. He cared for and protected his younger siblings in a household governed by the rigid religious rules of their father.

Between the ages of 14 and 16, Baldwin became a preacher in his father’s Pentecostal church. His preaching style, prose, and cadence were often more celebrated than his father’s. Baldwin’s brief experience in the church conditioned a strong literary voice, which he further developed during his middle and high school years.

As a setting in which he would thrive, school provided Baldwin with an outlet for his critical and creative thinking and writing. He attended Frederick Douglass Junior High School in the Bronx, where he met his mentor Countee Cullen , who achieved prominence as a poet of the Harlem Renaissance. Baldwin went on to DeWitt Clinton High School, where he edited the school newspaper and participated in the literary club, just as Cullen had done when he was a student there.

Baldwin's Heart Connection to Richard Wright's Work

The 1940s marked several turning points in Baldwin’s life. In 1942 he graduated from DeWitt Clinton High School, and a year later he witnessed the New York Race Riots and experienced the death of his father. In 1944 he met Richard Wright , whose written work spoke to his heart. Baldwin appreciated Wright’s strong opinions about race in America, and he greatly valued their intellectual exchange. In 1948, as a result of Wright’s influence, Baldwin left the United States for Paris. When asked about his departure, he said in a 1984 Paris Review interview: “My luck was running out. I was going to go to jail, I was going to kill somebody or be killed.”

Baldwin and Wright reconnected in Paris; however, the two were often at odds about the ways in which they approached race in their work; this conflict eventually led to the demise of their friendship. But he would strike up another friendship with poet Maya Angelou, whom he met for the first time in Paris while she was touring with Porgy and Bes s. In the tribute she would deliver at his funeral, Angelou noted that “His love opened the unusual door for me, and I am blessed that James Baldwin was my brother.”

Life as a 'Transatlantic Commuter'

Baldwin would spend the next 40 years abroad, where he wrote and published most of his work . He lived in France — both in Paris and in the South of France; Switzerland, where he finished his first novel Go Tell It On The Mountain (1953) and Turkey, where he spent a decade and filmed From Another Place (1970), in which he describes his pen as his weapon and his role as a witness in the freedom struggle. Referring to himself as a “transatlantic commuter,” Baldwin returned to the United States frequently to engage with family and negotiate with publishers. He also testified at hearings on Civil Rights violations and attended the 1963 March on Washington and the 1965 Selma to Montgomery March. Toward the latter part of his life, he taught at the University of Massachusetts and Hampshire College in Amherst.

On December 1, 1987, Baldwin lost his battle with stomach cancer. A week later, he was laid to rest at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York City. Family members and friends participated in a large service during which Toni Morrison, Maya Angelou, and Amiri Baraka delivered touching remarks about their friend and brother. During his lifetime, Baldwin received prestigious awards and achieved international acclaim for his writings. Through these works, James Baldwin firmly remains in eloquent discourse with society on issues as critical and pressing now as they were during his lifetime.

Artifacts: Traveling & Sibling Love

James Baldwin Passport 1965 Photo

We have a rich written, audio and visual record of Baldwin’s life to appreciate and admire. One provocative artifact in the possession of the NMAAHC, (above) is Baldwin’s United States passport from August 1965. It has stamps from all over Europe, particularly France and Turkey, but it also has evidence of multiple trips to the United States. Baldwin also visited Africa and the Middle East.

The second artifact (below) is a touching photograph of Baldwin with his younger sister Paula. The two are pictured smiling warmly, Baldwin’s arm wrapped protectively around the younger girl. Baldwin is wearing a bowtie adorned with small rectangles, and Paula has on a white dress with a round collar. They are positioned with their heads touching, indicating their close relationship. Those who knew and loved him like Paula affectionately called him “Jimmy.” This is a photograph of “Jimmy,” the big brother that his younger sisters and brothers knew and loved.

A Master of His Craft

Most of what we know about Baldwin comes from his prolific writings, interviews, and speeches. Artifacts that belonged to James Baldwin also offer insight into his personal experiences and the ways in which he placed them into a national and international context. This abundant evidence of Baldwin’s life reveals his keen understanding of the fundamental use of language in its ability to define and dictate human experiences. He believed, in the words of fellow writer Audre Lorde , that “the master’s tools can never dismantle the master’s house.” Toni Morrison, one of Baldwin’s dear friends, alluded to his use of and discourse on language during her tribute at his funeral, stating that Baldwin “made American English honest” in the “6,895 pages” of his written work.

Watch an interview with Tulani Salahu-Din about the Baldwin Collection:

Black History

martin luther king addresses crowds during the march on washington at the lincoln memorial washington dc where he gave his i have a dream speech

Martin Luther King Jr.

chaka khan

Langston Hughes

bob marley smiles and wears a red, yellow and green knit hat with a denim collared shirt over an orange v neck sweater

Harriet Tubman

tiger woods smiling at the conclusion of a golf tournament

Tiger Woods

bayard rustin looks at the camera while standing in front of antisegregation signs, he wears a suit jacket, collared shirt and tie and holds a cigarette in one hand

Bayard Rustin

kobe bryant smiling in lakers uniform

Kobe Bryant

black and white image of rosa parks

11 Notable Artists from the Harlem Renaissance

tupac shakur in a white shirt and black vest, with a black bandana on his head

Tupac Shakur

  • International edition
  • Australia edition
  • Europe edition

father with dementia illustration

‘I wouldn’t have missed it for the world’: 10 things I learned when my father had dementia

As his condition grew worse, I cared for him for 18 months. Amid the grief and pain, there were moments of explosive laughter – and unexpected pride

A fter a stroke, at 81, my clever, funny, obstinate father developed vascular dementia in November 2011. We swiftly came to understand that someone with dementia has difficulty with planning and understanding things, from breakfast choices to bigger life events. Changes to mood are inevitable, because they feel disoriented, confused and vulnerable. Balance can be challenging; memory and language fade – eventually, we were told, he would lose the ability to walk or talk …. It was unimaginable, but it happened.

My mother cared for him on her own heroically for about 18 months before my husband suggested that we move to Cornwall to help her. My dad’s prognosis was not good. He wasn’t expected to live for more than a couple of years – and he didn’t. I had 18 months with him and Mum, going back and forth from my father’s former painting studio in the garden, where my husband, daughter and I sort of camped out. My brother came home regularly, too. This is what I learned.

Writing helps

I kept a diary every day. I grieved so hard during and after his death that I wrote endlessly about that time. It was a way to hold on to him, to process things, to scream and cry on to a silent page so that my family didn’t have to cope with yet more tears. But it was also a chance to record the sweeter, lighter, funnier things about it, because our one piece of luck was that the dementia softened my father. He became much more emotionally available and was able to laugh a lot. I don’t know if this is the case for everyone, but, despite the occasional bout of anger or frustration, my dad yielded rather than fought.

We are surrounded by carers

Until my father had dementia, I had been lucky enough to not have to acknowledge that there is a secret world of carers (professional and unpaid) dealing with difficult and stressful situations every day. We met some amazing care workers who came to help bathe my dad, or to attend to his various medical needs.

Friends and neighbours came out of the woodwork, too. Often, these people had cared for their parents when they were children or teenagers, refusing or unable to send them to a care home and so doing everything for them for years and years: the bed baths, the potty changing, finding them when they went missing, amusing them, sorting their admin, dealing with their anger. Sometimes, without even asking, these people hugged my mother and me. They knew what it was like.

It can be explosively funny

Sometimes, my dad had to mime things, because his language abilities came and went, meaning he could no longer explain what he wanted. One day, after pointing to his bed, he mimed what seemed to be an impression of a rabbit, paws to his mouth, his beady eyes and prawny eyebrows peeping over the top of an invisible line. I didn’t know what he was talking about, but it all seemed very serious.

He got more and more frustrated while I tried very hard to hide the terrible laughter that comes when you know that the one thing you absolutely must not do is laugh. Then, I realised the paws were holding up an imaginary blanket. Eventually, I understood that what he wanted, when we made the bed every morning, was for the top edge of the blanket to stop near his nose.

Then there was the time we put dozens of candles on his birthday cake and came into his bedroom singing Happy Birthday, but the cake nearly set him on fire, because he didn’t have enough puff to blow the candles out. He was crying with laughter and so were we. It was a close shave.

You have to learn to adapt

I have always been quick, impatient, careless – “slapdash”, as he called me in my teens. But this slapdash nature was tamed by the demands of my new boss, dementia. My dad had been a huge reader and thinker, but the stroke had killed his ability to read; his intelligence was drowning in a sea of confusion and slowness of thought. Doing anything fast was not possible around him any more, so my brother and I had to learn to slow down, talk clearly, enunciate well, look him in the eye when we were talking and keep things to the point, so that he could understand. We had to enter the room slowly, meaningfully, heralded by an “ooh-hoo” so that he knew we were coming. So in a weird way the dementia required a new level of respect, and when he responded, it felt strangely good to give it.

The tiniest details can make a difference

One of the great daily demands was knowing what to talk to him about. We’d take it in turns to go in and sit with him in the morning or evening, to help dispel his boredom and keep him company. This could fill us with panic, because not only was he struggling to speak, meaning that two-way conversation was difficult, but we felt the acute responsibility of wanting and needing to amuse him. Big stories about politics were now out because he couldn’t really remember who anyone was or follow a storyline for long. It had to be more immediate things that happened around the house, such as the way I’d accidentally saved a baby shrew that the cat had brought in because it ran up my trouser leg while I was kneeling on the floor. These were my favourite moments with him – knowing that a story I was about to tell was going to get his interest: his eyebrows would start twitching, his eyes would twinkle, the giggles revving up like a big geyser and his shoulders heaving with amusement. Wonderful.

You have to be organised

We never knew if my father would sleep all day, or if we’d find him wandering around, or if he’d need medical attention. So we made an efficient list, pinned it up on the wall and circulated it to family, so that nothing bureaucratic (car taxes, MOTs, dental appointments) could ambush us while we were dealing with unexpected incidents with my dad. Naturally we already had power of attorney sorted, and a DNR (do not resuscitate) form, meaning that should his heart stop beating, or if he stopped breathing, it had been formally requested that no medical intervention would be given to him by healthcare professionals to try to keep him alive. That bit of paper – bright pink, as I recall – was a strange document to behold, but vital. He was keen to get out of here, that much was clear. If he was given the chance, we didn’t want to stand in his way.

You can forget who you are

When you’re dealing with someone who is ill, you sometimes (or often) have to deal with something horrid or icky or sad, or all three all at once, and you can lose your sense of self. How has it all come to this and how can this happen to you? But the thing to remember is that you are still that person, and that you’ll come back up to the surface of normal life and logic and laughter one day, despite the grief and the horrid things you’re currently having to deal with. All of this unhappiness and inconvenience will be stuffed into the weird, boggy aquarium that is dealing with someone with dementia. You’re still there, and the great thing is that the kindness of friends, and of strangers too, will haul you out of that aquarium, back into the light. By the scruff of your neck sometimes, sure. But out .

Everyone needs a break

Although, as a family, we tried to establish some sort of routine, the days and pressures were unpredictable and so, inevitably, were my own moods. I drank too much. Smoked too many roll-ups. Probably ate too much cake. But I also ran a lot, and escaped to London to get away from it all, and am fortunate to have an incredibly supportive husband. I was lucky. If you don’t have that then ask for help, wherever and however you can get it.

The law needs to change

The last few months of my father’s life were so hard. To see him fading away was brutal. We dreamed of a million ways to help him out of here with his dignity intact. What I wanted for him was for it to be a normal Tuesday morning, for him to have a delicious huge breakfast, to be in bed in his room with all the pets around. For us to have said fond and loving goodbyes, as though he was just going away for the weekend, and then for him to take a pill, have a bite of his favourite shortbread, a slurp of tea to wash it down, and then gently fade away, no fuss, just falling asleep in his own bed to the sound of the birds chirping away outside.

What happened instead was that he became unsteady on his feet and was too large for us to pick up when he had one of his many falls – so he had to go into a home for the last nine weeks, a place full of bleeping alarms, strangers and rules and unfamiliarity and suffocating heat, which was awful because we are a fresh-air, open-windows kind of a family.

The staff at the home did the best they could, but putting him in there was horrendous. The thought of it instantly makes me cry, and it is hard for me to make myself recall any of that time as it is so filled with sadness. His last words to me were “in prison” – one of the worst moments of my life. As a result, I am a massive advocate for legalising assisted dying. Handled right, it could take so much pressure off so many people, and allow for much, much happier endings.

It can be a profound and valuable experience

I was able to care for my dad, love him, indulge him and show affection in ways that would have been impossible for me to imagine when I was young. It gave me a sense of self-worth and respect that I think had been missing for much of my life. My suspicion that he had been disappointed with me eroded during that time. I think he saw qualities in me that he hadn’t known were there. I think I did too. And as a result I’ve had a bit more faith in myself since. I don’t think it’s too strong to say that the experience redeemed me in my own eyes. I had chased fun and freedom for much of my life at the expense of responsibility and a steady career, but here I faced up to life, and grew up, I think.

A few weeks after his death, my best friend, who had known my father since childhood, invited me for a drink. I hadn’t seen her in a while. She took me to a beautiful bar. When the waiter had placed our first drinks in front of us, she said: “So how was it then?” Meaning all of it – the last 18 months, and my father’s death. My exact words – which surprised us both a lot – were: “I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.”

She was incredulous but it was true. Nearly a decade later I stand by that remark. If I can be proud of anything in my life, it’s helping my mother look after my dad during that 18 months. It was a rite of passage, a battle, something painful to endure and to survive and recover from. But I did it.

  • Social care

Most viewed

We use cookies to improve your experience. By accepting, you agree to our Cookie Policy . Learn about opting out. . Accept

Need help? (Opens a help chat window)

Cake is the world's largest funeral and end-of-life planning site. Get personalized help today

How to Write a Biography for a Funeral Program + Examples

Updated 5/11/2022

profile picture

Belinda McLeod, BA in Secondary Education

Contributing writer.

  • Follow on Linkedin

my brother biography

After a person dies, someone in the family usually writes a biography or obituary about the person. This task sometimes falls to a friend or the funeral director may also help with the writing process. 

You may then submit the biography or obituary to the newspaper through the funeral home. Most newspapers charge families a per-word rate to print the article. You may also write the obituary for the funeral program on the funeral home’s website.

Check out our tips for writing a biography for a funeral. We will also give you short biography examples to help you with your task of telling your loved one’s life story. 

Jump ahead to these sections:

Steps for writing a biography for a funeral, funeral biography samples.

Think of a biography (or obituary) as a news article informing the general public about a death that occurred. Even though you may feel emotional when writing an obituary, this is not typically the outlet for writing about your feelings. 

Even though the biography is an informative article, it is up to you to include the details. You can include pretty much whatever you want, but it’s a good idea to get the family’s general consensus regarding what you will write about in the biography.

The number and types of details may vary, depending on the person and where the biography or obituary will be used. A biography (or obituary) read at a funeral may include more details than one printed in the newspaper or funeral program . 

Step 1: Start with the general facts

You want to identify the deceased first. Use the full name (with the maiden name in parentheses) and the age of the person. If the deceased had an often-used nickname, consider putting it in quotes. 

The more identification factors you use makes it less likely that your loved one gets mistaken for someone else. This is especially important if your loved one had a common name. 

Step 2: Consider including the essential dates in the obituary

Some families choose to include the birth date and death date of the deceased in the obituary. You can present this information in a variety of ways. 

Others avoid giving this detailed information in hopes of limiting the likelihood of fraudulent activity. You may provide partial information, such as “She was born to Bob and Mary Smith in October 1982.”

Step 3: Consider including the cause of death

The family must decide whether or not to include the cause of death. Most people who read the biography will wonder, “What happened?” This question may seem nosy to you, but it is only human nature to be curious about such matters. 

Some families choose to leave this information out of the biography, which is their prerogative. Others may view it as a piece of information that may be helpful to future generations. Some may give partial information, such as “Mary Frankie Jones, 65, passed away after a long illness.”

Step 4: Include information about the early life of the deceased

Most people choose to include the names of the parents of the deceased as well as the city of birth. Again, only include specific information if you feel comfortable; some unscrupulous individuals use this biographical information for nefarious purposes.

You may consider including where the deceased graduated high school and/or college. Include any brief military service during this section of the biography as well.

Step 5: Include other family information

Often, you list a deceased person’s marriages in the article chronologically and list children at the end of the article as “survivors to the deceased.”

For some, it’s easy to write about the deceased’s spouse but makes a difficult task for others. Again, there are no “rules” on who to include, so you and your family must make those determinations.

People agonize over whether to include estranged family members. You may also wonder whether to label stepchildren differently than biological children. Ex-spouses and long-term partners that never marry may pause you as you write the obituary. 

Each situation is different, so most etiquette guides recommend that people do their best to keep their relationships with their living family members intact by not limiting the list of survivors in the obituary. 

Step 6: Write about your loved one’s professional life

A funeral biography is not the same as a resume, but most people give at least some general information about how the deceased earned a living. 

If the deceased worked his entire adult life at one place of business, you would include this detail in the obituary. If he job-hopped but stayed in the same industry, you may include a sentence about his profession.

You may make this section of the biography longer for those with active careers. 

Step 7: Consider including information about community involvement

Many families choose to include their loved one’s involvement in community groups. For example, you may choose to include the deceased’s involvement in a specific church, civic organization, or volunteer group. You may also want to include any offices that the deceased held in any of these organizations as well as any awards earned. 

Step 8: Add any details that made your loved one special

There’s much more to life than work and club memberships. Think about other details you could include in the biography that would help people understand what made your loved one unique. 

Perhaps you want to write about how she was a Star Wars superfan and waited in line each time a new film was released. Maybe your loved one was an avid camper and fisherman and spent each weekend in a tent. 

You may want to write a lengthy exposition about what made your loved one special, which you should do. Use this information to write your loved one’s eulogy or share your writing with close family members. Depending on where you publish it, you may find your writing limited by the amount of space available. 

To get you started in your writing process, read these short, fictional obituary snippets. 

For a parent or grandparent

Douglas Richard Schrute, 82, passed away peacefully in his home on Monday, June 23, 2020. His wife of 53 years was by his side at the time of death.

Douglas was born on December 22, 1938, to Richard and Mary (Sullivan) Schrute in Elmwood, Illinois. He was the fourth son born to the couple. 

After graduating from Elmwood High School, he joined the U.S. Army, serving his country in Korea.

For a child or grandchild

Mary Kate is survived by her parents, Michael and Patricia Carmichael, and one brother, Cole. Other survivors include her maternal grandparents, John and Tawnya Crabtree, and her paternal grandparents, Frank and Louise Carmichael. 

For a partner or spouse

Peter worked in the telecommunications industry all his life. He began his career at Southwestern Bell in 1973 and retired from AT&T in 2018. He worked as a technical salesperson for most of his professional life. 

For an adult without immediate family

Michael will always be remembered by his friends as the “man of 1,000 stories.” He began each conversation by saying, “Stop me if you’ve heard this before,” which no one ever did. He was the life of the party, and laughter followed him wherever he went. 

For someone who died after a long illness

Jack passed away Friday, December 8, after a long battle with lung cancer. 

The family wishes to express appreciation to the Elmwood Hospice organization for helping make his transition to heaven as peaceful as possible.

Take Great Care When Writing the Biography of a Loved One

If you are in charge of making all of the arrangements, you may find yourself overwhelmed by your list of “to-do” items. 

Even though you may find yourself pressed for time, carefully consider the wording of your loved one’s biography or obituary. Take care to be as accurate as possible by double-checking dates, the spelling of names, and other facts. 

Anytime you write something of this level of importance, it is good to have other family members and friends check the piece for accuracy, clarity, and grammar. Have others proofread the funeral program as well and help you pick which modern funeral program to include. 

You only have one chance to write the obituary of your loved one, so take your time as you complete this task. 

Categories:

Icons sourced from FlatIcon .

Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy .

my brother biography

My Life With the Walter Boys Season 2: Release Date Prediction, Latest News, and Everything Else to Know

Jackie has another season of choosing between Cole and Alex

Nikki Rodriguez and Noah LaLonde, My Life With the Walter Boys

Nikki Rodriguez and Noah LaLonde, My Life With the Walter Boys

Are you Team Cole or Team Alex? Season 1 of Netflix's  My Life With the Walter Boys  quickly rose to the No. 1 spot on Netflix's top television shows when it was released, and not just in the United States, but in 88 countries. 

Based on Ali Novak's novel of the same name, My Life With the Walter Boys follows New York City native Jackie Howard (Nikki Rodriguez) after she tragically loses her family and is sent to live with a new guardian in rural Colorado. If that wasn't enough, Jackie finds herself in the middle of a love triangle between two of the brothers she lives with, Cole Walter (Noah LaLonde) and Alex Walter (Ashby Gentry). 

We have good news: A second season is coming. We will try to answer your questions about the upcoming season, like when does My Life With the Walter Boys premiere, who is in Season 2, and where you can watch My Life With the Walter Boys .

My Life With the Walter Boys  Season 2 latest news

On December 19, Netflix announced that My Life With the Walter Boys was renewed for a second season. This is especially impressive as the series dropped on Netflix on December 7, less than two weeks before the streaming service decided it wanted more, and Netflix usually waits longer to announce renewal plans unless the show is a really big hit.

Netflix released a sweet clip of Nikki Rodriguez, Noah LaLonde, and Ashby Gentry getting the good news.

MY LIFE WITH THE WALTER BOYS SEASON 2 IS COMING! Watch the cast find out 🥹 pic.twitter.com/dLNZmCOoVU — Netflix (@netflix) December 19, 2023

"I am beyond thrilled that My Life With the Walter Boys has been renewed for a second season," said Melanie Halsall, the series creator, in a statement. "We have been overwhelmed by the love and support that the audience has given the show, and [we] can't wait to dive back into the world of Silver Falls and the lives of these characters." 

My Life With the Walter Boys  Season 2 release date prediction

There is no release date for Season 2 of My Life With the Walter Boys yet . Since the second season was just approved, the cast and crew will still need to write, film, and edit the upcoming episodes. The time from the start of filming to the drop on streaming for Season 1 of My Life With the Walter Boys was over a year, so we imagine fans will have to wait until 2025 for another season. 

What will My Life With the Walter Boys  Season 2 be about?

Since many people may have not finished the final episodes of Season 1, we won't give any spoilers, but we will say Season 2 of My Life with the Walter Boys will be centered around what made Season 1 work: the love triangle between Jackie and the Walter Boys.  

Who will be in My Life With the Walter Boys  Season 2?

There have been no casting announcements for Season 2 of My Life With the Walter Boys , but for now, we expect Nikki Rodriguez will return as Jackie Howard as well as those playing characters in the Walter family.

My Life With the Walter Boys  Season 1 main cast:

  • Nikki Rodriguez as Jackie Howard
  • Noah LaLonde as Cole Walter
  • Ashby Gentry as Alex Walter
  • Johnny Link as Will Walter
  • Corey Fogelmanis as Nathan Walter
  • Connor Stanhope as Danny Walter
  • Zoë Soul as Haley Young
  • Jaylan Evans as Skylar Summerhill
  • Sarah Rafferty as Katherine Walter
  • Marc Blucas as George Walter
  • Alisha Newton as Erin
  • Mya Lowe as Kiley

Where can I watch My Life With the Walter Boys ?

My Life With the Walter Boys airs exclusively on Netflix.

  • Entertainment
  • Photography
  • Press Releases
  • Israel-Hamas War
  • Russia-Ukraine War
  • Latin America
  • Middle East
  • Asia Pacific
  • Election 2024
  • AP Top 25 College Football Poll
  • Movie reviews
  • Book reviews
  • Financial Markets
  • Business Highlights
  • Financial wellness
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Social Media

Slovenian guard Goran Dragic announces his retirement after a 15-year NBA career

FILE - Miami Heat’s Goran Dragic (7) puts up a shot against Milwaukee Bucks’ Wesley Matthews (9), right, during the first half an NBA conference semifinal playoff basketball game Wednesday, Sept. 2, 2020, in Lake Buena Vista, USA. Goran Dragic, a former All-Star guard with the Miami Heat and the leader of Slovenia’s team that won the EuroBasket championship in 2017, has announced his retirement. (AP Photo/Mark J. Terrill, File)

FILE - Slovenia’s Goran Dragic lifts the trophy after defeating Serbia in the Eurobasket European Basketball Championship final match in Istanbul, Sunday, Sept. 17. 2017. Goran Dragic, a former All-Star guard with the Miami Heat and the leader of Slovenia’s team that won the EuroBasket championship in 2017, has announced his retirement. (AP Photo/Thanassis Stavrakis, File)

  • Copy Link copied

MIAMI (AP) — Goran Dragic, a former All-Star guard with the Miami Heat and the leader of Slovenia’s team that won the EuroBasket championship in 2017, announced his retirement on Sunday.

Dragic spent 15 seasons in the NBA and played for seven teams — Phoenix, Houston, Chicago, Brooklyn, Milwaukee, Toronto and the Heat. He was part of the All-NBA team in 2013-14, the same season in which he was voted the league’s most improved player, and made his lone All-Star appearance in 2018.

“I have lived my greatest dream and I am extremely grateful for the countless people in my life who have enabled me to play this long,” Dragic said. “It starts with my parents, Marinko and Mojca, my brother, Zoran, my kids, Mateo and Vikorita and their mother Maja, and the rest of my family who always allowed this passion of basketball to be a priority for me.”

Dragic intends to have a retirement celebration this summer in Ljubljana, Slovenia, likely after the Paris Olympics conclude. There are tentative plans to announce details of that celebration later this week.

Los Angeles Lakers forward LeBron James, loses control of the ball after being fouled as Phoenix Suns forward Kevin Durant, left, and forward Josh Okogie defend during the first half of an NBA basketball game Thursday, Jan. 11, 2024, in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/Mark J. Terrill)

The 37-year-old Dragic spoke often in recent years about what the 2017 EuroBasket win meant to him, especially considering that it is generally considered to be Slovenia’s finest moment in team sports. Dragic averaged 22.6 points and 5.1 assists in the nine games at that tournament and finished off the gold with 35 points in the title game win over rival Serbia, his father’s homeland. Slovenia is his mother’s homeland.

He became a national hero, receiving one of Slovenia’s highest civilian honors after that tournament, and was brought to tears by a gift of a jersey from the mother of one of his idols, the late star Drazen Petrovic.

“It was everything,” Dragic said.

A young guard on that 2017 Slovenia team that Dragic mentored: Dallas Mavericks star Luka Doncic.

“It was an amazing run for him,” Doncic said Saturday, when word began to leak out of Europe that Dragic’s retirement announcement was imminent. “I’m just glad I know him, I’m glad I played with him and man, I learned a lot about him, especially about leadership in that tournament.”

Dragic was beloved in Miami, where he and his family continue to maintain homes. When he was a free agent in 2020, the Heat surprised Dragic with billboards in his native Slovenia , with slogans such as “Your second family is always with you.” That gesture, Dragic said, was deeply moving and led to him quickly re-signing with the Heat.

The left-handed Dragic was the 45th overall pick in the 2008 draft by San Antonio. He averaged 13.3 points and 4.7 assists in his career, and averaged 20 points in a season twice — in 2013-14 with Phoenix, and 2016-17 with the Heat.

He helped Miami reach the NBA Finals in 2020, the season that ended in the bubble at Walt Disney World because of the COVID-19 pandemic. Dragic hurt his foot early in that series and appeared in only two games, an injury that seriously impacted Miami’s chances at a title.

“Can you do something for me?” he asked a reporter when that series against the Los Angeles Lakers ended, the Heat having lost in six games. “Tell the fans we really tried and I’m sorry. I really tried.”

Dragic thanked a long list of people for their involvement in his career, including David Stern and Adam Silver — the NBA’s two commissioners during his tenure — along with coaches, team executives and his agents Rade Filipovich and Bill Duffy.

“All good things come to an end but this dream of basketball will always be with me,” Dragic said.

AP NBA: https://apnews.com/hub/nba

'This is my home’ – a 13-year-old vlogger's life in Gaza

This video can not be played

To play this video you need to enable JavaScript in your browser.

Even before the current war, children in the Gaza Strip had lived through multiple rounds of fighting between Palestinian armed groups and Israel.

In 2021, the BBC featured a girl called Nadin Abdullatif in a report.

Now 13, she has become a popular vlogger on Instagram and has been describing what has happened to her and other children during the war.

Nadin’s older brother, Ahmed, was killed in an Israeli air strike just as she and her family were forced to flee their home in the Rimal neighbourhood of Gaza City. They have since been displaced to Rafah.

In Gaza, more than 23,350 people - mostly women and children - have been killed, according to the Hamas-run health ministry, since the war began in the aftermath of Hamas's 7 October attacks on southern Israel.

In those attacks some 1,300 people were killed - mainly civilians - and about 240 others were taken hostage.

  • Subsection Middle East
  • Published 12 hours ago

IMAGES

  1. All About My Brother

    my brother biography

  2. Be My Brother

    my brother biography

  3. Essay on my Brother with Importance in English

    my brother biography

  4. FREE 25+ Biography Writing Samples and Templates inPDF

    my brother biography

  5. A Tribute To My Brother

    my brother biography

  6. Pin on Biography

    my brother biography

VIDEO

  1. What did the brother do? 😱

  2. Wait for my brother #attitude #comedy #automobile

  3. The Original brothers 25

  4. When brothers be brothers

  5. Brothers will be Brothers

  6. My brother said that if I win him, she will be my wife #mahjong #gameplay #seasideescape

COMMENTS

  1. My Brother by Fatima Jinnah

    My Brother Fatima Jinnah 4.35 243 ratings47 reviews My Brother is the biography of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan, by his sister Fatima Jinnah.

  2. My Brother, Muhammad Ali: The Definitive Biography

    Amazon.com: My Brother, Muhammad Ali: The Definitive Biography: 9781538142448: Ali, Rahaman, Rafiq, Fiaz, Brown, Jim: Books Books › Sports & Outdoors › Biographies Enjoy fast, free delivery, exclusive deals, and award-winning movies & TV shows with Prime Try Prime and start saving today with fast, free delivery Buy new: $26.95

  3. My Brother

    My Brother - Fatima Jinnah. My Brother is the biography of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan, by his sister Fatima Jinnah. It is thought that the publication of Hector Bolitho 's book, Jinnah Creator of Pakistan, in 1954 prompted her to write about her brother as it was felt that Bolitho's book had failed to bring out the political ...

  4. My Brother, Muhammad Ali: The Definitive Biography|Paperback

    My Brother, Muhammad Ali: The Definitive Biography by Rahaman Ali, Paperback | Barnes & Noble® Home Books Add to Wishlist My Brother, Muhammad Ali: The Definitive Biography by Rahaman Ali, Fiaz Rafiq (With), Jim Brown (Foreword by) Write a review Paperback $19.95 Hardcover $26.95 Paperback $19.95 eBook $14.49 Audiobook $0.00

  5. My Brother (book)

    My Brother is the biography of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan, by his sister Fatima Jinnah.

  6. Frankie Gaye

    Frankie Gaye (born Frances Gay; November 15, 1941 - December 30, 2001) was an American recording artist and the brother of fellow recording artist Marvin Gaye. [1] Gaye's recollections of his tenure in the Vietnam War inspired Marvin's song " What's Happening, Brother ," from the album What's Going On .

  7. My Brother, Muhammad Ali: The Definitive Biography of t…

    Sadly, this was easily my least favorite Ali biography. I hoped for new personal insight about Ali's life from his brother but instead this book was mostly a selective set of critiques of the high points of Ali's life. There is a slight tinge of revisionism at times as well. Overall a bit of a letdown.

  8. My Brother (book)

    My Brother is the biography of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan, by his sister Fatima Jinnah. It is thought that the publication of Hector Bolitho's book, Jinnah Creator of Pakistan, in 1954 prompted her to write about her brother as it was felt that Bolitho's book had failed to bring out the political aspects of her brother's life. It was published by the Quaid-i-Azam Academy in 1987.

  9. My Brother, Muhammad Ali: The Definitive Biography

    No one was closer to Ali than Rahaman. Born Cassius and Rudolph Arnett Clay, the two brothers grew up together, lived together, trained together, travelled together, and fought together in the street and in the ring. A near-constant fixture in his sibling's company, Rahaman saw Ali at both his best and his worst: the relentless prankster and ...

  10. My Brother, Ernest Hemingway by Leicester Hemingway

    My Brother, Ernest Hemingway was the only biography Ernest knew about, and he was pleased with it—although he asked his brother to postpone publication while he was still alive. First published in 1962, Leicester's biography provides a revealing and intimate portrait of one of the great writers of our century.

  11. Michael: My Brother, Lost Boy of INXS

    As a lifelong INXS fan, Michael: My Brother, Lost Boy of INXS was an amazing account of a man I loved and never truly knew. Tina's account of her brother's life is at once heartfelt and riveting. So easy and enjoyable to read, yet I had to put it aside a few times just so I could stretch it out as long as possible.

  12. How My Brother Changed My Life

    How My Brother Changed My Life. November 17, 2014. Molly Briody. Therese Burke. This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at Saint Mary's chapter. When people ask me who I aspire to be like, they are often confused when I tell them my inspiration comes from my younger brother. My brother has been the biggest pain in my ...

  13. my brother jordan

    Four years after Jordan's death, Justin set out on an 8 year journey to bring his brother's story to life. With the help of 102 interviews and 300+ home vide...

  14. My Brother Moochie by Issac J. Bailey: 9781635420036

    About My Brother Moochie. A journalist's raw, first-person account of what his family endured after his eldest brother killed a man and was sentenced to life in prison. At the age of nine, Issac J. Bailey saw his hero, his eldest brother, taken away in handcuffs, not to return from prison for thirty-two years.

  15. PDF MyBrother

    the life-long companionship, which lasted till Jinnah's death on 11 September 1948. In all Miss Jinnah lived with her brother for about twenty-eight years, including the last nineteen years in his life, which, by all accounts, were the more critical, the more trying, years in all his life. During these years, The Quaid emerged, slowly but ...

  16. Brother Biography Examples That Really Inspire

    Brother Biographies Samples For Students 13 samples of this type Regardless of how high you rate your writing skills, it's always a good idea to check out an expertly written Biography example, especially when you're handling a sophisticated Brother topic.

  17. My Brother Elvis: The Final Years Reflects on Life Inside ...

    Aug 16, 2016. Elvis Presley with stepbrother David E. Stanley (1972) David E. Stanley was 4 years old when he met Elvis Presley and moved into Graceland. One of three stepsons of Elvis's father ...

  18. My Brother

    He was a wrestler, in football, in choir, and in musicals as well. Like him, I want to be apart of clubs and groups. A achievement that he has led me to is to be friendly and try to be less judgmental and easygoing. Joey has encouraged guitar on me. When I was younger my friends and I would watch him play for hours.

  19. My Brother Essay

    December 10, 2020 by Sandeep My Brother Essay: I have a younger brother, whose name is Kevin. He is eight years old and studies in Class 3. My brother is cute and adorable. He is kind and polite by nature. We both love to spend time with each other. He is an intelligent kid, and everyone likes him. His favourite game is chess.

  20. James Baldwin Biography Photos

    Early Life: Big Brother and Preacher . Baldwin was born in Harlem, New York on August 2, 1924, to Emma Berdis Jones. He was reared by his mother and stepfather David Baldwin, whom Baldwin referred ...

  21. 'I wouldn't have missed it for the world': 10 things I learned when my

    I had 18 months with him and Mum, going back and forth from my father's former painting studio in the garden, where my husband, daughter and I sort of camped out. My brother came home regularly ...

  22. How to Write a Biography for a Funeral Program + Examples

    Step 1: Start with the general facts. You want to identify the deceased first. Use the full name (with the maiden name in parentheses) and the age of the person. If the deceased had an often-used nickname, consider putting it in quotes.

  23. Everything to Know About My Life With the Walter Boys Season 2

    Netflix's My Life With the Walter Boys is coming back for a second season of rural romance between Nickki Rodriguez's Jackie the brothers Cole and Alex.

  24. 24 Biography Templates and Examples (Word

    Personal Biography Template. A personal biography template is a structured outline designed to guide individuals in documenting their life stories, achievements, and experiences. It provides a framework to organize personal details in a coherent and engaging manner. This template, created in our prior response, can assist users by simplifying ...

  25. Will There Be A 'The Brothers Sun' Season 2 On Netflix?

    Michelle Yeoh and Justin Chien in "The Brothers Sun" on Netflix. As of January 2023, Netflix has not renewed The Brothers Sun for a second season. However, if Season 2 does receive a green light ...

  26. Slovenian guard Goran Dragic announces his retirement after a 15-year

    By TIM REYNOLDS. MIAMI (AP) — Goran Dragic, a former All-Star guard with the Miami Heat and the leader of Slovenia's team that won the EuroBasket championship in 2017, announced his retirement on Sunday. Dragic spent 15 seasons in the NBA and played for seven teams — Phoenix, Houston, Chicago, Brooklyn, Milwaukee, Toronto and the Heat.

  27. 'This is my home'

    Now 13, she has become a popular vlogger on Instagram and has been describing what has happened to her and other children during the war. Nadine's older brother, Ahmed, was killed in an Israeli ...

  28. Help Save My Brother's Life in Gaza

    Abdalrahman almallahi is organizing this fundraiser. My name is Abdalrahman, and I am reaching out regarding my brother who was shot in Gaza whilst tending to the wounded and injured in an ambulance. As an international graduate student in the US, my concern for the safety and well-being of my family members in Gaza, particularly my brother, Dr ...

  29. My Life with the Walter Boys

    My Life with the Walter Boys is an American teen drama television series that premiered on Netflix on December 7, 2023. The coming-of-age drama is an adaptation of Ali Novak's 2014 novel of the same name, which was first published on Wattpad. The series follows recently-orphaned Jackie Howard (Nikki Rodriguez), a teenage girl from Manhattan who relocates to rural Colorado after she is taken in ...